Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2011, 11:05 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Hello, we need help ASAP, no heat now.
Have Ducane furnace MP9A075BU converted to LP, replaced Honeywell smart valve, ignitor is working, pilot only stays lit for at most one second, then goes out.

This thing has an ignitor, which lights a pilot light, which lights the burner.

HVAC person has checked both (only two safeties and the pressure switch) and all checked out OK. Pilot tube had cracked and was replaced. Hvac took pilot tube out and there plenty of gas pressure being supplied.
Any suggestions would be appreciated, we are working on the unit as I type.
thanks!

phil d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 12:46 PM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


pilot burner may need replacing. orifice is probably partially plugged. not easily field cleanable, need special orifice bit and it usually bends and gets damaged in the removal process. too small of flame due to orifice restriction.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:04 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


hi thanks for the reply. I spoke with the tech (a friend) and we are not sure if you mean the bit gets bent or the orifice tube gets bent.
Do you have an idea how to fix ASAP? can we use solvent to clean, or tiny drill bits (I have) to clean the orifice?

My son's family is cold, including my 2-year old granddaughter, I've offered to put them up over the weekend. He is very strapped for money, emergency fees are horrific.

I would be happy to call you to discuss. I can send my number if you prefer. very much appreciate your reply, concurs with another local person that offered help.

--Phil
phil d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:16 PM   #19
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


If you have soft hands and are VERY careful you can carefully dismantle the pilot burner. Must be VERY careful how you remove it as it is very easy to break the igniter. Unscrew the aluminum pilot line from the burner use a 7/16 box end wrench so it does not get crushed/warped and carefully poke the orifice out, remove it with a piece of wire if it is not too stuck in. This is where it can get damaged as it is made from soft aluminum. If it comes out you can clean the inside with a piece of wire. The actual orifice hole is VERY small .010 for propane I believe. If you enlarge it then the flame will be too big. There are special tradesman orifice bits but I just replace the orifice and burner so I don`t get callbacks etc. I will hang in here and try help you. When it comes to kids I care a lot.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 12-03-2011 at 01:25 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:24 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Hi Yuri,

I must leave soon, but I will check later. They intend to remove orifice tube and will try cleaning it. The tech needed to move on to his next job for today. If you want my private email address to go offline, I can read that away from my computer. I don't see an option for replies to go to my email address, but I can try to access the site on my "smart" phone.
phil d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:25 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


just saw your reply, will stick around a bit. I will forward info, but I do need to go elsewhere soon.
thanks.
phil d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:26 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


I do my replies in the forum so they can help others.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:34 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


I m forwarding this thread, and the link to the forum, and my son will join and reply directly. He may not be home for an hour or more, so if you need to leave and can check back later, that would be great. Thanks again.
--Phil
phil d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 01:38 PM   #24
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


I should be here unless my better half decides otherwise.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 01:47 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Hi Yuri, sorry I didn't get back to you sooner, I've been down with a bug. My son's furnace has been repaired.

It turned out to be the orifice. This was after the smart valve was replaced--not sure if it needed to be replaced or not.

First HVAC from local highly regarded company recommended replacing Smart Valve for $525, replacing the LP Conversion kit (price and labor not determined). Second HVAC charged cost on Smart Valve ($160) orifice (at cost) plus time.

Thanks so much for helping. This initially stumped a couple people.

--Phil
phil d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 04:14 PM   #26
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Thanks for letting us and others know. There is NO substitute for experience and I learned EVERYTHING the hard way. To bad a lot of these young techs and some old ones too are just "parts changers".

Glad it got fixed and I hope you and your nice family have a Merry Xmas.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 12-08-2011 at 06:21 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Furnace will not stay on allenzachary HVAC 32 09-21-2010 08:30 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
Luxaire furnace fails to fire cheesegrump HVAC 1 01-10-2006 07:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.