Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2006, 04:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


I tried to start my Ducane furnace recently.

I turned on the breaker, turned on the burner On/Off switch, turned on the furnace on/off switch and turned on the gas.

While leaving he top inspection pannel off I called for heat.

The unit's exhust blower goes on and the furnace ignition element glows for a few seconds.

After a few seconds the gas burners ignite.

After about 2-4 seconds the burners shut down.
This cycle repeats.

The furnace burners do not stay on to heat the house.

Any sugestions would be appreciated.
franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 09:42 AM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 637
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Hi franko

Pull and clean your flame sensor. This is the metal rod opposite of the ignitor. Shut power off to furnace before removing this rod. Use a wire brush DO NOT USE SANDPAPER! Let me know if this doesn't work, I will need a little more information.

Good luck.
RUsty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 04:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Dear Rusty

Thanks. It worked like a charm.

I'm not sure why since there did not appear to be any visable build up.

Thanks Again

Frank
franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 10:18 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Hey usually some manufactures recommend using sand cloth and then going back over with a wire brush and thats just a suggestion. Glad to see you got it running.
baseball27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 06:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Thank you, I have been trying to figure out this same problem myself!
barbara aguirre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:33 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


I need help with my ducane furnace not igniting. I Have changed the fan ignition board and checked the connections, still no flame from the igniter. I have also checked to see if the igniter was bad but it's still in good order. Help its cold!
will3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Quote:
Originally Posted by will3 View Post
I need help with my ducane furnace not igniting. I Have changed the fan ignition board and checked the connections, still no flame from the igniter. I have also checked to see if the igniter was bad but it's still in good order. Help its cold!
What made you assume the board was bad? How do you know the igniter is still in good order? Is your draft inducer motor running?
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 06:21 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


yes its still blowing
will3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 07:35 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


What's the unit's efficiency. What you checked and what else are you noticing? Have you checked chimney or intake (if >90+AFUE) blockage? What's the voltage to the igniter? Is your pressure switch working? Have you checked and cleaned the temperature sensor?

Again I'll ask: What made you assume the board was bad? How do you know the igniter is still in good order?
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 10:20 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


I've checked to see if current was flowing through the igniter with a voltage tester. I have noticed that I wasn't getting any voltage from the igniter board (Honeywell). I have checked the chimmney and performed a flame test to see if any pull was taken place. Should I switch out the ignition board thats connected to my gas line?
will3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 07:46 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Thought you already replaced the control module? How many boards you got in that thing?

Is this an 80 or 90 AFUE furnace? Did you check your pressure switch or switches? Did you check the high temp limit switch?

At least we know you igniter is probably not the problem.

Last edited by dac122; 10-30-2008 at 07:54 AM.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 10:05 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


i am haveing the exact same problem as described in the first post to the T how do i get the flame sensor out to clean it
ostromk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 02:54 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Hi - Sort of the same problem, exhaust blower comes on but the ignition element does not glow. Checked voltage - only 2.5 volts. Any thoughts for me?
Doug
dougsage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 03:53 PM   #14
HVAC Tech
 
Ducthunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Quote:
Originally Posted by dougsage
Hi - Sort of the same problem, exhaust blower comes on but the ignition element does not glow. Checked voltage - only 2.5 volts. Any thoughts for me?
Doug
2.5 v to the igniter from the board? If so probably bad wiring or board, most likely the latter
Ducthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:52 PM   #15
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 637
Default

Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on


Hi to all, it has been a while for me here. I have missed all you Ladies and Gentlemen. To help answer your question you may be working at the problem from the wrong end. The ignitor not coming on can be caused by a multiple of failures. Take your volt meter and insert a lead in each of the wires located at the plug. Start furnace into heating cycle, it could take as long as 1 1/2 minutes for you too get a reading at your meter. You will only show 120 volts for about 30 to 45 seconds. Unless this is a Ducane with the Honeywell smart valve system. Then you will read voltage about 30 to 45 seconds after inducer starts. If all safety devices are closed and pressure switch is functioning properly you will get a voltage reading for about 20 seconds. If you are getting voltage, ignitor is bad. If not, check all limit switches and pressure switch for proper operation. Most likely you will find rollout limit bad, (next to burners around burner box) or vestiblue limit, (black or brown limit in middle of furnace approx 2"X4"). Good luck, leave me a little more too work with if this doesn't work.

Rusty
__________________
Character is doing the right thing even when no one is looking. Intelligence is understanding and practicing the meaning of character.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Furnace will not stay on allenzachary HVAC 32 09-21-2010 08:30 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
Luxaire furnace fails to fire cheesegrump HVAC 1 01-10-2006 07:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.