Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2012, 03:47 PM   #16
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,321
Share |
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
See I told you Yuri would know. My unit is a Carrier and really easy to get to. I guess good engineering costs. Do what Yuri tells you from here on out. Im sure he has forgotten more than I will ever know about furnaces.
Done my share of roofing work, dealing with leaky flat roofs on a hospital etc and hated it, we had a fabric roof on the Convention Centre I used to work at . Can't imagine how long that will last compared to a conventional roof.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 12-22-2012 at 09:26 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 09:00 PM   #17
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,406
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Yeah Yuri,

Roofing is kind of a Black Hole. (Pun Intended) Not sure what a "Fabric" roof is, Maybe a reinforced single Ply. They will be OK for 20 or so years if it is Fibertite or another good membrane.

The thing with commercial roofing is that once you bag a couple of decent sized projects $500,000.00+ its hard to walk away.

Have a Great Christmas and NY
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 09:11 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,321
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


I think the tech guy said it was good for 20 yrs but what do you do after that. Rip it off. Didn't seem very durable to me.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 12-22-2012 at 09:25 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:06 PM   #19
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,406
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Well it sure as heck isnt 16, or 20 oz. Copper, DAS-A-FA-SHOE!

Of course with all the acid rain the US sends up to Canada they would have been better off with LCC.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:49 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Knowing that you just replace the whole thing, Yuri, says a lot. I guess I got an extra 2 months out of it somehow but the timing just was the unfortunate part here, having a cold house for Christmas is a bummer but what can ya do. I really appreciate all that you guys did to try and help, thank you so much.

I may take one more panoramic shot so you can see the entire system and the outtakes but most likely this 13 year old furance just needs a part or two.
BDPNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:49 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


I actually managed to take a video of it, just on the off chance it might throw up a light bulb of what it might be so I can get the heat running today (VERY cold, we of course had snow last night).

http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=2zhr6g9&s=6

If anyone has any ideas, though to me it's probably out of my hands and in need of a part and no new information.

This is a video taken via the view window. You'll hear the gas come on for about 3 seconds and then will hear the noise it makes as it shuts off.

This is probably not any new info, just confirming what you all already knew, but this is what it does. Sometimes it takes a couple minutes to do this after I fire it up, but I typically don't leave it on much longer after it fails, no idea if it retries.
BDPNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 07:28 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Looks like you need a new gas valve. That one (honeywell smart valve) has the electronics for the hot surface ignitor built in. Also the inducer assembly is sounding rough,might need a new one of those soon.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 07:33 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Amazed you can hear all that in my terrible video. Thanks for the reply. I'm hoping that a tech can make it out tomorrow after the holidays are over. You really start to miss heat after 5 days!

At least it looks like there's nothing I could have done to fix it - What bugs me is that I can see the darn thing light and flame flowing in there for a few seconds, if only it wasn't kicking itself off! But I have to keep telling myself it's doing that for safety reasons.
BDPNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 03:28 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...




I wanted to share more information to see if anyone can advise if this is now a fix I can do on my own, also in the hopes of helping others. A tech was out and disconnected the hose from the switch at the point marked with the blue arrow. As soon as he did, the gas turned back on and the house fan, all was well.

Reconnecting that hose kept things running so he thought it was going to stay working, but was still unsure if the part circled in yellow (pressure switch?) needs to be replaced. Part number on it is PPS10034-2278 but I can't seem to find one online so I imagine it's been replaced with a different part/number?

Sure enough, overnight, it stopped working again. The hose by the way runs into a plate marked with the orange arrow.

If I remove the hose at the spot marked in the blue arrow, what risks do I have in letting the heat run until the tech can come back out after the New Year holiday? Safe? Not safe? The heat turns on instantly when I disconnect that hose.

Also, if this is indeed the part marked in the yellow box, is that something I can just order and swap out myself? It looks like just two wires and a couple screws going into it.

Thanks all!

Last edited by BDPNA; 12-29-2012 at 03:36 PM.
BDPNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 05:22 PM   #25
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,321
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


DO NOT disconnect that hose. The pressure switch is a critical safety device for the furnace. I proves there is enough draft for the burner to fire safely and enough air for safe combustion. Bypass that and you will permamently damage the heat exchanger or worse. He should be checking it with a manometer and it sounds like you need a more experienced tech.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 05:32 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Yuri,

Thanks for your reply, I appreciate it. When I disconnect the hose, after the induction fan is on, it obviously fires up the burner and the fan, I then immediately plug the hose back onto the barb, and fan keeps running / gas flowing until it reaches set temperature. When the tech was here, he showed me that when he blocked the hose (pinched it shut), the gas shut right off. However, the fact that the gas does NOT shut right off when I connect the hose back to the pressure switch, does that tell us anything?

In other words, I can get heat flowing in the house, once the induction fan starts, by removing that hose, waiting 20 seconds for the gas to light and blower fan to start, then reconnecting the hose.

I have no problem paying for this to be fixed, but it sounds like what he is going to bring is a new pressure switch, as he said he looked at it and the indicator inside it didn't look like it was positioned right or something...If you think installing a new pressure switch isn't the answer I'd like to cancel it before he brings it out. Or even find a new tech.
BDPNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 05:44 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


I just listened to the system turn on, gas fire up, and the blower fan, from where I am sitting, with no intervention on my part at all. So that time, it worked, but later in the day, it might not.

Is it possible that this is actually the switch doing its job and a low pressure situation? I have a feeling the tech is going to come back, and replace a part that doesn't need replacing, but I'm right back to where I was before...But out the cost of part and labor for something I don't even need.

Are there any checks I can do as a novice to check pressure? I don't want this guy (or anyone for that matter) to replace the pressure switch, or the smart valve (as someone had also suggested), if neither of those parts are the problem. I feel like I'll get stuck with a huge bill for parts that I didn't even need switched out to fix the problem.
BDPNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 08:59 AM   #28
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,321
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Welcome to my world. Troubleshooting is not an exact science or that easy and we cannot do it over the net all the time. If the switch has a rating on it like .48"WC then he should hook up a manometer to that hose and see if the pressure is OK. I have not seen that furnace for a few yrs and those Ducanes are a bit different in what they monitor the pressure on and how. The newer ones have one switch that does 3 functions. You really should find or get a troubleshooting manual to describe what those switches do to help him. It may be a bad switch and problem solved. Otherwise you really need a troubleshooting chart and it is in the install manual. The switch checks for venting obstructions, drainage issues (too slow), problems with draft thru the heat exchanger etc. I would have to be there to help more. See if you can find the troubleshooting info and post it here.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:33 AM   #29
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,406
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Did you get your problem resolved? Pex SUpply is really good for parts.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:25 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Ducane Gas Furance with Honeywell Ingnition Not Firing...


Back from a New Years trip, and things seem to be working well again, though the night we left, we couldn't get the thing to light or stay lit no matter what we tried. We had the repair place set to come back again tomorrow, but now it seems that things are fully operational again, even on the few random checks from neighbors, things were lighting up. Guess I gotta strangely hope that things either start acting up again before tomorrow, or risk having it kick out on the weekend. I'm wondering if having my furnace in "away" mode and not needing to kick on quite so much was what allowed it to operate normally.

We'll see what happens, thanks for the line on parts, which I'll keep handy, though it sounds like a manometer hooked up will answer a lot of questions, next time it's NOT staying lit, so let's hope the repairman has one and is willing to hook it up the next time it's acting up.
BDPNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell / Honeywell thermostat replacement question. FatBear HVAC 12 10-24-2012 12:41 AM
Is this how a gas furance works? marriedmanw HVAC 19 10-08-2012 08:37 PM
ducane furance zak28p HVAC 1 02-21-2011 04:41 PM
Honeywell TrueSteam wont work! Stewart Daniel General DIY Discussions 18 12-20-2010 07:41 AM
Replacing Honeywell thermostat with another Honeywell flipz HVAC 4 02-06-2010 04:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.