Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2007, 01:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ducane Furnace - no heat


This morning I discovered that my NG furnace will not provide any heat when I turn up the thermostat.

I turned the fan switch on the thermostat to ON, and the fan is working.

I went to the furnace room and turned the electrical switch off and on again. there is a click in the furnace and the motor (maybe this is the blower motor?) starts to buzz but that's all.
There is no ignition, so the usual firing up of the burners is not happening.

Is there any trouble shooting I can do to isolate the problem?

thank you in advance.

dave_in_waterloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 06:39 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ducane Furnace - no heat


i was having the exact same problem. i found a little button (limit switch of some sort maybe) in the inside half way up the upright furnace that if you push it will click and then the flumes will fire up. my problem is that i did this once last year and it worked all year. this year it wont run for more than 15 minutes and it will trip the button. it will not reach the desired heat before it trips the button. any body have any ideas why this button keeps tripping and shutting off the gas ( i guess that is what the button does).

thanks in advance
jym

jymellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 08:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ducane Furnace - no heat


well i have been running it at 69 for about 2 hours without the front panel on ( the larger one held on with about 6, screws on the front covering the button). has been running fine. i am goingto check on it in about an hour. i think it may be an overheating problem of somesort. dont know a fix as of yet. thanks for the help. i shall report back shortly.


jym
jymellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:27 PM   #4
Newbie
 
bradofcanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ducane Furnace - no heat


I thought id revive this old post as im having the exact same problem as the original poster.It never seemed to be answered.

As he says,My Thermo is good,there is power to the board and it is flashing properly.I tried the blower manually and that's fine.It just wont ignite and fire up.
bradofcanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ducane Furnace - no heat


Inducer motor will be the first thing to turn on with a call for heat. If it doesn't you check to see if it's powered and not turning or just not powered.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on franko HVAC 25 12-08-2011 04:14 PM
BRRRR! NO HEAT! PLEASE HELP! Old Carrier Furnace! joeraccio HVAC 6 10-11-2010 09:07 PM
Furnace - fan comes on, but no heat albionwiggina HVAC 5 02-12-2007 02:37 PM
no heat when turn furnace on atl HVAC 1 10-24-2006 12:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.