Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-16-2009, 03:32 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Ducane furnace does not light.

Ducane Furnace Model FP$B100A4B - It is a gas furnace, Horizontal.

The furnace keeps going into gas valve lock out after attempting to light for three times. Each time I can smell gas so I know that it is getting gas. I removed the gas burners and check the electronic ignitor. I can see the spart when trying to light the gas. The small fan in the burners system comes on alright.

The Ducane service personnel replace the gas value, the burner assembly and the ignitor. The furnace still does not light. I can light it alright with a match and it works fine but the electronic ignitor is not able to light it.

I have been servicing furnaces for over 10 years but I have not been able to solve this problem this time. Please advice.

uncleshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 09:42 PM   #2

is i the same pilot(not changed)? sandpaper the area where the ignitor spark hits the pilot metal check the pilot metal to ground to make sure it is solid......check the 24Vs at the secondary of your TR in the furnace make sure it is that or higher.it might have to hit into the area where the pilot gas comes up and out.just suggestions

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 09:59 AM   #3

There is 29.4 V ac at the tranformer in the furnace
Old 01-21-2009, 08:35 PM   #4

is this hot surface or spark ignition?
Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 10:46 PM   #5