Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central City, Nebraska
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dual Furnaces


Hello,

This is my first of many posts and one that I really need some help understanding. I just purchased a new house. The house was built in 1910, but has had multiple add-ons done. Currently there are two furnaces, a really old one in the basement and a slightly newer but still old one on the main floor.

The house is two stories and the basement is just a dirt crawl space for the most part.

Furnace (basement)

This furnace feeds the main floor with floor vents. Pretty straight forward and probably the original design of the heating system.

Furnace (main floor)

This furnaces is where I get confused. It has two primary branches off of it. The first branch goes upstairs and feeds a newer addition that was built in the 70's or 80's. The second branch feeds 3 of the same rooms that the basement furnaces feeds + 2 upstairs bedrooms.

Problem and Question -

What I would like to do is removed the second feed off the main floor furnace and just run smaller duct work to the two bedrooms that it feeds and stop feeding the same rooms that the basement furnace feeds. If I did this am I going to get myself in trouble with "HVAC Laws"? Why would someone design a system like this? Any advice/help would be appreciated.

Mike

mcatlett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 04:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Dual Furnaces


That's an odd setup, and there's no way for us to tell you whether your duct changes would be okay or not. You'd have to get someone onsite to review the situation before you can make that determination.

Most likely the duct systems were installed that way to alleviate hot/cold spots in those rooms, but again - there's no way to tell.

scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Stage Furnace grod777 HVAC 34 11-05-2011 11:28 AM
NM cable and Dual fuel range edge130 Electrical 0 11-02-2011 04:48 PM
Dual Cap 35/25MDF 440VAC JJboy HVAC 20 10-10-2011 10:12 PM
Dual stage or 2 furnaces? bedmad` HVAC 6 02-09-2010 08:19 PM
Twinned Furnaces Questions MrControls HVAC 12 12-13-2008 11:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.