Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 10:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

dual fuel heat pump - no heat without propane


Hi we live in a house with a Coleman dual fuel furnace. This will be our 4th winter in this house with this heating system. The heat pump provides heat down to 32. After that temperature the propane kicks and in provides the heat. As of right now we do not have a propane tank. We had planned to move before winter and had no propane so we had the tank picked up. We are having nights in the 40's and need some heat. The heat pump outside will not run on a heat cycle. It works perfectly fine fine in ac mode but no heat. We have got it to come on in heat mode but only for a few minutes. It switches to propane even though it is not cold enough for it. Since we don't have any propane, how can I get the heat pump to provide heat and stop switching to propane? It seams like I need to rewire the thermostat around the propane so that it doesn't have that option. What would cause the system to stop working properly and keep switching to propane? Any help will be appreciated.

sweetfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

dual fuel heat pump - no heat without propane


Disconnect w at the thermostat.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
sweetfarm (10-08-2012)
Old 10-08-2012, 11:43 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 20
Default

dual fuel heat pump - no heat without propane


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Disconnect w at the thermostat.
I disconnected w2 in the thermostat and it started working right away. It is there a sensor or thermostat outside that chooses between the heat pump and propane? If so how do I find it and test it for function when I finally have more propane? Thank you for the quick response.
sweetfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 08:07 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 20
Default

dual fuel heat pump - no heat without propane


We now have no heat again. The outside temperature dropped below 32 and the heat pump shut down. The system was set up this way to work with propane when the temperature is below freezing. How can I override this feature? We will not have propane or a tank for another month.
sweetfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disable heat pump in a carrier infinity hybrid (dual fuel) system? andrewket HVAC 0 12-05-2011 04:30 PM
Heat pump vs AC unit docmattman HVAC 11 07-31-2011 11:24 AM
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 06:53 PM
Help with Heat Pump System Wiring AlanScott HVAC 11 10-10-2010 12:19 PM
Heat Pump vs Aux Electric Heat batolson HVAC 16 01-17-2009 10:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.