Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2005, 12:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Drains for the A/C


I recently had a 2 zone A/C system installed. It has 2 units in the attic with a drain line out of each one. I was told that in order to pass an inspection, I had to have the those 2 drains converted into 4 drain outlets that lead into the gutters. Is there a reason for this ?
TIA

Scott_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 05:51 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drains for the A/C


I don't know the codes in ny, but i imagine they are pretty close everywhere...i have never heard of this...in virginia, drains are run outside, close to the ground..it is a good idea to have an "emergency" pan with a seperate drain in case your ac becomes clogged...usually these aremore noticeable so you'll see when you have water coming from them..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_K
I recently had a 2 zone A/C system installed. It has 2 units in the attic with a drain line out of each one. I was told that in order to pass an inspection, I had to have the those 2 drains converted into 4 drain outlets that lead into the gutters. Is there a reason for this ?
TIA

nasa-hvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 01:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drains for the A/C


nasa-hvac,
Thanks for the reply. I just found the below post on the Contractor's forum, so I guess it's a legitimate code. My area is pretty strict as I'm finding out the hardway.

Would anyone know how much it would cost to have this changed from 2 drains to 4 drains ? :confused:

"In short, the regular condensate drain on the coil and the auxillary drain pan must have seperate drain lines. They are not permitted to tee together. The auxillary drain line must be run to the disposal point UNLESS there is an overflow detection device (normally a tiny float switch) installed on the drain pan. This is float switch is commonly installed nowadays, regardless of whether the overflow pan is piped or not. The overflow switch normally breaks the "Y" circuit."
Scott_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow drains, clogging toilets Keyo77 Plumbing 10 08-16-2007 11:07 AM
pipe size for tub, floor, and bath sink drains amakarevic Plumbing 2 07-25-2007 07:29 AM
Testing Drains bjr23 Plumbing 10 05-09-2007 12:30 PM
tub drains slow new construction clibertyusa Plumbing 5 04-04-2007 12:51 PM
Sewer Drains Unregistered General DIY Discussions 1 04-24-2004 05:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.