Drain Tube On AC - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2009, 08:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain Tube on AC


I turned my AC on today and noticed water around the central unit. I checked the drain plug and it was clean. I took it off and the water was coming out fine. however, when I put the hose back on it did not come out. I realized that if I put on over a three foot hose the water does not drain.

I am stumped on this one.

Advertisement

fridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:26 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain Tube on AC


2 things could be going on the drain is clogged up or hows the air coming out of the air handler. is it cold, warm? if so chances are the coil is froze up. if thats case turn the fan on, a/c off and let run. if that is problem your low on freon and have a leak somewhere.

Advertisement

damyankee007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain Tube on AC


The air is cold coming out. Also, there is no clogging as I put new tubes on. However, when I take the tube off the AC unit the water drains fine. However, when I go over three foot long tube the water just stops draining. It is almost like we stop the flow. Take the hose off or shorten and it works.
fridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:01 PM   #4
member
 
leoacrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain Tube on AC


make you have a good slope on the drain
leoacrh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:24 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain Tube on AC


also i agree is the pvc going down hill and do you have a p trap on it.
damyankee007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:26 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain Tube on AC


I am trying. However, It comes out and then has to go five inches over to go down. That is my concern the drain is not that long. The only catch is that the if I add on to the three foot hose( already below the outlet) it just stops. I also feel air coming out of this hose. Is this correct. I would think with a drain tube there would be not air coming out.
fridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:16 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Drain Tube on AC


Shim the back of the coil.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing sink drain tube n0c7 Plumbing 7 04-16-2009 08:16 AM
condensation drain tube prablem Fixitwannabee HVAC 1 03-07-2009 11:57 AM
please help with clawfoot tub drain - obselete tube size? wombosi Plumbing 1 01-27-2009 03:26 PM
Wierd Floor Drain "Backup" rawkintrevo Plumbing 9 06-04-2008 08:10 PM
The Bioswale, french drain, deck, drainage dilemma (long) seabright_sc Building & Construction 2 01-05-2008 04:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts