Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Share |
Default

double pole contactor


This is connected to my problem with my Heil heating unit.

Is this double pole contactor supposed to have 220 volts going out on the load side when in the heat mode like it does when in the cooling mode?
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:33 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

double pole contactor


if it is a heat pump that is the compressor running the reversing valve is the heating control swing not the compressor
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:35 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

double pole contactor


If its gas electric, no.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Default

double pole contactor


This is a gas unit.

I noticed this actually a single pole with a shunt contactor.

Questions:

When in the heat mode, does the transformer come into play in regard to the contactor?

The transformer is primary 208/240v, secondary 24 v.

Is the 24 v ac voltage?
I have the transformer here. The line was on the 240 terminal on the primary side.

The secondary side had 2 blue wires on the common terminal.

How should these two sides read on a digital ohmmeter?

How to I read voltage at the gas valve?

I did have the ignitor glowing, but the main burner would not ignite as if there was no gas from the valve. I did hear a click, not sure if it was the valve or the ignitor. I think it was the valve.

How do I get to the orifices to clean them? Remove the screws holding the manifold, clean them and replacde the manifold? Then soap check for leak at the valve?

Where is the fan that blows the air through the duct work into the house?

The combustion fan runs when the thermostat is set to higher temp than the setting for room temp. The compressor fan runs when I push down on the contactor to energize that one side. This being heat, I do not know if both lines are supposed to be used.

As you can see, I am lost.
I have been very mechanical for most of my life, but have very little experience with hvac. I do know enough to be careful.

Pressure switch seemed to be good. I did cut the tip of the hose hoping it would fit tighter......it did.

The people that installed this unit for me a few years ago did not put a service switch outside. This means a lot of trips in and out of the house to kill power, set stat, etc..

Also, I think he ran the exhaust across the basement and just layed it in a hole in the old chimney. THat casn't be right. Heck, I might find a family of coons in that thing blocking it.

I have often though about this and wndered if I could get him back out to seal it in like I feel it should be. I mean what if someone down the road decides to close the old chimney up at the roof not knowing the furnace is vented through it?

Anyway, as usual, any contructive comments are appreciated.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:55 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

double pole contactor


Post model number of your heil.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Ceiling fans and 1 double pole switch karpolu Electrical 17 05-28-2012 10:00 AM
20 amp double pole???????? organikmachanik Electrical 17 03-15-2012 11:06 PM
Double 15 amp single pole mmacnz Electrical 6 04-17-2011 09:11 PM
single pole vs. double pole circuits DannoW Electrical 7 07-21-2008 09:20 AM
40 amp double pole gfci problem rivers Electrical 38 07-19-2008 12:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.