Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 07:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Share |
Default

Door switch question


Hi,

How much of the furnace's operation is controlled by the door switch?
E.g. can any fans run with it open?
Is the the control board powered down by the switch or is it just one of the safety inputs to the control board?

Thanks

bausin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,271
Default

Door switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bausin View Post
Hi,

How much of the furnace's operation is controlled by the door switch?
E.g. can any fans run with it open?
Is the the control board powered down by the switch or is it just one of the safety inputs to the control board?

Thanks
all of it ..its shuts off the 120 volt from switch..

ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Door switch question


I was looking at a neighbor's furnace and saw no LED lit through the viewing hole nor after I took the panel off. I ordered him a new board but then got to wondering if the door switch had been open the whole time (there were three screws missing on the panel). The fan was running before and after I removed the panel. So it's good to know I didn't order a board for nothing. I'll have to check that door switch when I replace the board.

Thanks.
bausin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Default

Door switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bausin View Post
I was looking at a neighbor's furnace and saw no LED lit through the viewing hole nor after I took the panel off. I ordered him a new board but then got to wondering if the door switch had been open the whole time (there were three screws missing on the panel). The fan was running before and after I removed the panel. So it's good to know I didn't order a board for nothing. I'll have to check that door switch when I replace the board.

Thanks.
Yeah if the fan was running after you took the door off then someone probably wired around the switch or taped it permanently closed. Because the door switch should turn everything off.

This is why you should never trust a door switch to kill power, always verify power is off. I've been shocked several times because of that or someone wiring the nuetral leg to the door switch instead of hot.
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:46 PM   #5
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Door switch question


A number of different boards show no led light unless there is an internal fault.
The legend on the furnace door should tell you if the led light should be on.
If the legend only lists fault codes and no code for power then
a stat or stat wiring failure could cause the fan to run continuously with no heat and a properly working board would never show an led light.

Many furnace set ups can also include a continous fan operation.

Last edited by how; 01-21-2013 at 02:49 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:16 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Door switch question


The error code table says no LED means Hardware Fault. I don't know what hardware that means. I assumed it meant the board itself so I ordered a new one. I'll know more once I get the new board.

Thanks
bausin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Default

Door switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bausin View Post
The error code table says no LED means Hardware Fault. I don't know what hardware that means. I assumed it meant the board itself so I ordered a new one. I'll know more once I get the new board.

Thanks
Then you're probably right. If it said no code meant hardware fault that means bad board. Or at least that's how I'd read it. I think you're on the right track
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:07 PM   #8
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Door switch question


Agreed..bad board.

how is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.