Dog Pulled Wires Out.... Help - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2013, 09:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


My daughter calls me and sends me some pictures of her outside unit after her dog chewed and pulled what looks to be control wires. Perhaps to the inside unit or thermostat. Idk.

But, where do I hook them up? Where are the terminals and any ideas where they would land? It's a AHRI Standad 210/240 model M4A330GKC200.
Attached Thumbnails
Dog pulled wires out.... Help-image.jpg  

Advertisement

larbec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 09:19 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


This is the outside unit
Attached Thumbnails
Dog pulled wires out.... Help-image.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by larbec; 04-11-2013 at 09:21 PM.
larbec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 09:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Rewards Points: 266
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


They "usually" connect to two stranded wires behind the panel right above where the main electrical wires go in. Make absolutely sure you turn off the breaker to the outside unit before opening the panel.... there is 220VAC at about 30amps inside..... you will get seriously hurt if you get across that kind of voltage. There "should" be a wiring diagram inside the panel also showing where those low voltage control wires connect.

If you're not confident with electricity, call a technician out.

Dogs should not be allowed anywhere near outside air conditioning units. They tend to use them as fire hydrants and their urine will destroy the outdoor coil. Oh, and they tend sometimes to chew on wires.
old_squid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to old_squid For This Useful Post:
larbec (04-11-2013)
Old 04-11-2013, 09:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


Thank you! I'm good with electricity. Been in maintenance as a controls / facilities guy. Just did not know where they went. Never worked on residential units.
larbec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 09:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,793
Rewards Points: 702
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


A simple vinyl lattis fence or some vinyl fencing with a few 4 X 4's would have prevented that.
Keep it back far enough for service.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
larbec (04-11-2013)
Old 04-11-2013, 10:23 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


We've already picked materials up from Lowe's. She just moved in and let her dog out.
larbec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:30 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


turn the breaker to the furnace (inside unit) off first. gas or electric or what kind of heat? I ask because there is a fuse on gas furnaces that protects the control board that might have blown when this happened. It's a simple 3 or 5 amp spade fuse available at any auto parts store. but if it did blow nothing would work as is so it's pretty apparent if it did or did not.


You should ask your daughter.
__________________
Thanks.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 04-11-2013 at 10:43 PM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:32 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


and the big copper line needs to be insulated all the way to the unit.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:33 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Dog pulled wires out.... Help


and it doesn't matter which wire, red or white, connects to the two wires from inside the unit. no order, just 24 volts there and back.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
larbec (04-11-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
Neutral Wires Hot Problem rayray221 Electrical 7 09-20-2010 12:20 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 03:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 02:35 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 07:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts