Does This Wire Need To Go Somewhere? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2011, 02:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


This is under my thermostat. The blue wire wasn't connected to anything and the heater constantly runs (blows out cooler air when desired temp is reached and YES, the setting is on "auto") and sometimes makes clicking noises. I'm sorry, I'm a clueless newbie but I thought that just didn't look/act right.

Advertisement

Alexzandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 02:28 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


Oops, forgot pic!

Name:  image-798378432.jpg
Views: 63
Size:  32.2 KB

Advertisement

Alexzandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 03:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexzandra View Post
This is under my thermostat. The blue wire wasn't connected to anything and the heater constantly runs (blows out cooler air when desired temp is reached and YES, the setting is on "auto") and sometimes makes clicking noises. I'm sorry, I'm a clueless newbie but I thought that just didn't look/act right.
First I would clean up that wiring. You have a lot of opportunities for bare wires to touch each other.

Can you describe your system a little bit?
garya505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 09:06 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


Absolutely. Like I said, I'm a complete newbie but what would be helpful for you to know?
Alexzandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 04:44 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


How cold is it outside when it blows this cold/cooler air? How long have you lived there? As in is this the first heating season for you in this house?

When is the last time you had your heat pump serviced?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 11:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


Is the fan always running? Or is it just for extended times after heating?
Is your aux heat electric or gas/oil?

Based on your pic of the stat wiring, that blue wire could have been attached to the fault indicator (L), second stage cooling (Y2) or common (C), or not attached at all. In any case, I suspect it's not the cause of the cooler air blowing.

Last edited by garya505; 12-01-2011 at 11:57 AM.
garya505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:39 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
How cold is it outside when it blows this cold/cooler air? How long have you lived there? As in is this the first heating season for you in this house?

When is the last time you had your heat pump serviced?
I'm in Nashville so today it's about 45. I normally set it to btwn 68-70. I've lived here about two weeks so yes, first heating season in this house.

I had the house inspected before I bought it about a month ago and he said everything was okay but I don't know if he looked at it long enough to notice that it didn't go off. And the clicking noises must not have happened when he was here..either that or he didn't think it was a big deal.
Alexzandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:41 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


Quote:
Originally Posted by garya505 View Post
Is the fan always running? Or is it just for extended times after heating?
Is your aux heat electric or gas/oil?

Based on your pic of the stat wiring, that blue wire could have been attached to the fault indicator (L), second stage cooling (Y2) or common (C), or not attached at all. In any case, I suspect it's not the cause of the cooler air blowing.
It's not ALWAYS running..but I'd say about 90 or 95% of the time and it's electric.

So you're saying that blue wire may not need to be attached to anything? That's kind of a relief although shouldn't they have put some sort of cap over the end or something???
Alexzandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


looking at how short the stripped end of blue wire is it is possible that just maybe you will find a small piece of bare wire under an empty terminal that that used to belong to the blue wire. also, maybe you can obtain a wiring diagram from the mfg.
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 04:48 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


Home inspectors do know how to really check a heat pump. Best bet is to have a reliable HVAC company check it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 06:32 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Does this wire need to go somewhere?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Home inspectors do know how to really check a heat pump. Best bet is to have a reliable HVAC company check it.
Grrr was hoping I wouldn't have to spend the $$ but in this case, you're probably right...to save on electric bills and the peace of mind in knowing it works correctly.

Advertisement

Alexzandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 09:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 02:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts