Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2012, 11:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


Hello, I bought a new rheem ac system 1 wk ago and I'm using it for the first time and it's not cooling, my ? is does the system come charged from the factory or does the installer have to charge it? Thanks in advance.

jinxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 11:22 AM   #2
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


It should be fully charged.

Sent from a Samsung Galaxy SII

titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 11:31 AM   #3
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


Charge should come in the condensor.Installer has to evacuate the line set and evap coil before opening the valves to let the charge fill in the vacuum.It then needs to be checked to make sure it is not undercharged or overcharged.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:52 PM   #4
Grognard
 
andrew4096's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Santa Clara County, California
Posts: 12
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jinxed View Post
... does the system come charged from the factory or does the installer have to charge it?
Most home air conditioning system components are pre-charged at the factory -- the condenser, evaporator coils and insulated refrigerant lines. Metal membranes seal the openings and the act of screwing the lines onto the condenser or evaporator pierces the membranes and allows refrigerant to flow. However, if one doesn't mate the parts properly, it is possible to have the refrigerant leak away, requiring a recharge. Installers typically check the pressures with an HVAC manifold gauge set right after the system is assembled and add refrigerant as needed. They also perform leak tests to make sure all the joints are tight.
andrew4096 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 03:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


Depends on what you bought. A new 410A AC will come with charge,a dry shipped R22 AC would not.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,256
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


vac out line set and open up service valves on condenser?????? who installed it????....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:26 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Depends on what you bought. A new 410A AC will come with charge,a dry shipped R22 AC would not.
This.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 10:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


Is this a package unit or a split system?
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:49 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Newnan,GA
Posts: 61
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jinxed View Post
Hello, I bought a new rheem ac system 1 wk ago and I'm using it for the first time and it's not cooling, my ? is does the system come charged from the factory or does the installer have to charge it? Thanks in advance.
We had a new system (2 years ago) and the cooling was not very effective. We had the HVAC installer out and they told me this particular unit comes precharged with a enough refrigerant for a 10' run, but ours was 20'. He charged it up and it worked perfect

__________________

Check out my Man Blog
jasonreck71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:59 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,219
Default

Does a new ac system need to be charged?


jinxed, jinxed, jinxed, Did you read every sentence of the paperwork that was shipped with the unit? If not you should have.

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Hydronic Heating System... how / need to bleed? MtnMan7 HVAC 1 11-19-2010 03:51 PM
beware humidity system? Emaderton3 HVAC 5 02-10-2010 11:52 PM
Replace/repair decision on 13 yr system pumpkin5 HVAC 13 07-02-2009 08:01 PM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 07:22 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.