Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2014, 03:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Share |
Question

Does HVAC lineset need to be grounded?


My HVAC contractor says the installation of the line set between the air handler and the condenser outside is complete but he has not grounded the lines. I wonder what happens if a lightening strikes the condenser, which, by the way, is located on the roof of the house (so not directly grounded).

Do HVAC copper pipes need to be grounded?

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 03:26 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,892
Default

Does HVAC lineset need to be grounded?


No, but the unit should be grounded through the ground line that is attached at the outdoor unit, that attaches through the whip to the disconnect box on the side of the home.

From there, the disconnect should be grounded to either a Sub panel or main panel, which should be grounded according to the local rules and NEC if in North America, CEC if in Canada.

As for a lightning strike, no matter how much you ground your electrical system, nothing can survive a direct strike from lightning.

If you are in Lightning country, suggest installing Lightning rods on the structure.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (03-03-2014)
Old 03-03-2014, 03:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

Does HVAC lineset need to be grounded?


are you saying the power line that goes into the condenser will do the grounding job because it is connected to the ground bus in the panel ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 05:04 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,892
Default

Does HVAC lineset need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
are you saying the power line that goes into the condenser will do the grounding job because it is connected to the ground bus in the panel ?
Yes. That is the purpose of having the ground at the disco, and having a ground wire inside the whip connected from the ground point inside the disco.

If you did not have that ground wire in there, there is no way for the breaker to trip at the breaker panel if there is ever a short. Or give you a return path in case there is ever current leakage, that could possibly energize the cabinet of the unit.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 09:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 455
Default

Does HVAC lineset need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
My HVAC contractor says the installation of the line set between the air handler and the condenser outside is complete but he has not grounded the lines. I wonder what happens if a lightening strikes the condenser, which, by the way, is located on the roof of the house (so not directly grounded).

Do HVAC copper pipes need to be grounded?
Grounding electrical equipment and components has nothing to do with lightning. If lightning strikes the unit, grounded or not, kiss it goodbye.
IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 10:09 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,892
Default

Does HVAC lineset need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandGuy View Post
Grounding electrical equipment and components has nothing to do with lightning. If lightning strikes the unit, grounded or not, kiss it goodbye.
A lot of units have survived direct lightning strikes. As long as they are properly grounded, the brunt of the voltage will be taken by the wiring.

If the unit was running at the time of the strike, yes the motor & compressor may end up fried. If they were not, usually not.

When the units are placed on roofs, they are supposed to have the chassis bonded with a grounding strap, that connects to the Earthing ground for the incoming Electrical for the building. The main reason why you want those units on roofs grounded is yes not for so much Lightning protection, but personnel protection, in case the unit chassis becomes energized.

Still if the OP or any building is in Lightning country. Lightning rods should be installed on the building.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 04:15 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Does HVAC lineset need to be grounded?


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post

Do HVAC copper pipes need to be grounded?
No, they are already grounded by the condenser's chassis ground, and also often by the indoor units chassis ground.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grounding, hvac


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking informed HVAC info and opinions from the "pros" Lita HVAC 8 02-22-2012 08:15 PM
HVAC Pro Worth Joining HandymanCA HVAC 5 02-08-2012 04:42 PM
HELP!!! How much owe my HVAC repairman? Is he competant? MB1 HVAC 23 02-01-2012 02:42 PM
Lennox HVAC in Watchguard Mode (4+1) onefastwrex HVAC 19 01-10-2012 04:28 PM
Does this look like asbestos wrapping my HVAC register? htabbas HVAC 12 11-22-2011 06:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.