Do Older A/C Need TX Valves? - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2010, 06:38 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


My furnace is a Lincoln supreme.

Here is the label picture: http://img43.imagevenue.com/img.php?..._122_408lo.JPG

Advertisement

myleena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:24 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


So... do I need a TX valve or not? I am confused
myleena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:24 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,971
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


No, order what I described. Where do you live? Is it an oil furnace, you need to read and post the model # for us, too blurry to read.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:28 PM   #19
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,971
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


OK, I got it, it is a 20 kw electric furnace. Not sure if it has a powerful enough blower for a 2.5 ton AC unit. How old is the furnace?. You may have to do some research to find out what the manufacturer allows to be used in that furnace for AC. We would also have to see if your ducts are big enough for a 2.5 ton AC. This is why installing used units does not always work out so well.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 07-13-2010 at 08:30 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:36 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 29,048
Rewards Points: 9,642
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


Quote:
Originally Posted by myleena View Post
So... do I need a TX valve or not? I am confused
See post #11.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:38 PM   #21
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,971
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


Don't order anything until we know where you live, square footage of your house and from that we may be able to tell you if the unit is too big for the house. If it is then it will freezeup and get ruined.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:46 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


I am not sure how old the furnace is. I think it was changed from oil to electric in 1996 - about 15 years ago or so.

I live in Montreal, Canada where the winters are VERY cold and the summers, way too humid.

My house is 1300 square foot I believe (+basement).

Please don't tell me I need to buy a new AC...!

Last edited by myleena; 07-13-2010 at 08:52 PM.
myleena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:48 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


New price quote from vendor - They don't have ADP:

Uncased Aspen A Evaporator Coil – 2.5 ton - $220 – with no TX Valve – 13” W x 19 3/8” D x 14” H

Uncased Carrier N Evaporator Coil – 2.5 ton - $290 - with TX Valve – 12 11/16” W x 19 3/8” D x 14 3/8” H

(I told them my furnace was 20" x 20")
myleena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:53 PM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 29,048
Rewards Points: 9,642
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


New coils are generally designed to fit newer furnaces and air handlers.

Your HVAC guy will have to make the proper transitions to it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 08:54 PM   #25
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,971
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


You know where I am, got nothing on me when it comes to cold Winters. I highly suspect that you need a 2 ton unit as that is what we would put in in Wpg. I doubt that furnace has a 2.5 or 3 ton blower in it. If you have large old school ductwork you may get away with it. I think you need your friend or someone in the biz locally who understands ductsizing and what that furnace can handle. It will be a huge waste of time and $$ if it is too big as it will freezeup from poor airflow. If you can find the fan specifications from Lincoln or in the owners manual and it is rated for 2.5 tons or 3 tons of AC and your ducts are big enough then your are okay. If not, Sorry.

If it is oversized it will also not run long enough to de-humidify your house. You will get a cold and clammy feel, like walking into the Safeway meat dept. 2.5 ton would be good for 1600sq feet where I am and would be matched to a 25 kw furnace.

Back tomorrow, got a early service meeting and need my beauty rest.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 07-13-2010 at 09:08 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 09:39 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


I understand... :-(

My house was built in 1950, so I guess I have old ducts.

What if I am planning to change the whole system to a heat pump in 2 years.. would it be worth it? I would be paying $500 total and think I can handle not being comfortable for the few weeks of hot summer we have up here. It's so hot here I can't stand it and am looking for a quick fix.

And still don't know if I need the TX valve.. I read and re-read post #11 which says "A 65 piston will work. Thats what it says on that label. " but to me, who is not a technician, it means nothing.

Thank you all for taking the time to reply to my newbie questions, it is very appreciated.
myleena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 10:04 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 29,048
Rewards Points: 9,642
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


Post 11 means, you don't need a TXV. And the label tells the tech what size piston to use.

If its just for 1 or 2 summers. I'd buy 2 cheap window A/Cs. And use them. probably save 200 to 250 bucks over having this unit installed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 05:46 PM   #28
Hvac Pro
 
yuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,971
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

Do older A/C need TX valves?


Beenthere is right. 2) 12,000 BTU window units (which you can resell later) is a better idea. The other option is going to be a lot more than $500 in real world dollars. Unless your friend wants to donate: freon, expensive copper lines and thermostat and high voltage wire and a thermostat, all those items have a dollar value. If he does then you owe him big time.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stop valves in bathroom while drywalling StevePax Plumbing 11 01-17-2010 05:52 PM
Outlet With Swith and Older (White, Black, Red) Wire CaptChaos Electrical 18 09-14-2009 11:17 PM
shutoff valves all leaking hohadcr Plumbing 1 08-01-2009 06:38 AM
why do my 1/4 turn valves leak? moondog111 Plumbing 1 12-07-2008 11:09 PM
shut off valves on cast iron radiators bdw2677 Plumbing 2 10-21-2008 07:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts