Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 01:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Do I need a new furnace controller circuit?


So I have some amateur skill at hvac. My brother-in-law is an HVAC tech in the pass he taught me a few things. For reason I will not go into, I do not want to ask him for help. Simply put it he's been a jerk to my sis. So I need a second opinion from you guys (the pros).

One morning I woke up at 3am in the cold. My draft inducer was constantly running but no flame. This is a Lennox Conservator G16, about 20 or more years old. I check a few things and turns out my ignitor was not sparking. The pilot has gas, because when I manually light the pilot everything works. I tested the continuity of the ignitor from the controller connection to the spark electrode and its not continuous. I tested for amperage on the ignitor terminal at the control module an was getting about 3.6amps. I went and purchased a new pilot assembly.

After installing the new pilot, I had the same problem. Ignitor will not spark, and pilot will not light. When lite manually the pilot works and everything on the furnace works. The new thing I notice now is I'm not getting any Amps reading from the ignitor terminal on the control module. So my question is what amperage reading should I be getting at the IGN terminal. Is this reading in AC or DC. I'm not sure what it is because I'm not getting any reading anymore. I know this IGN terminal is intermittent, and will only put out amperage when the control module ignite the pilot. So I have held the ohm meter to the terminal for at least 5minutes from start of heating cycle, and still no reading. Could I have shorted out or burned the control module from my earlier test by doing amp draw on the IGN terminal to a ground? I do not have am amp clamp and used the ohm meter leads? I need a second opinion before purchasing a new furnace control module. By the way this is a no-integrated control module. Will try to attach photo, mine is not that clean. Thanks for you help!





Last edited by ntnher; 03-13-2012 at 01:38 AM. Reason: insert picture
ntnher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:18 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Do I need a new furnace controller circuit?


you need a new ignition control if it is not sparking but the pilot valve is operating.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 04:33 PM   #3
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Do I need a new furnace controller circuit?


Did you test the ignition lead & igniter on your new pilot assy for continuity?
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:18 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Do I need a new furnace controller circuit?


If I remember those ignition systems had ground issues
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,243
Default

Do I need a new furnace controller circuit?


you have a bad control board.....
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:05 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Do I need a new furnace controller circuit?


I would replace a 20 year old furnace before putting any large amount of money into it.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (03-13-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
transformer and circuit brd in gas furnace gulley HVAC 5 11-21-2010 11:48 PM
Furnace Fan Controller djlarson77 HVAC 7 11-03-2010 09:24 AM
furnace circuit board hk42fz007 ccmyers2 HVAC 2 12-02-2009 09:10 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.