Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2009, 03:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do I need an air handler


I have a new Airconditioner unit and the coil is on top of my furnace. Thew furnace is pretty old. The problem I have is that the blower on the furnace doesnt seem to blow hard enough to reach all parts of my house. Would an air handler istalled in my attic solve this problem or does on have nothing to do with the other?

jzinacnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 05:44 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Do I need an air handler


Your duct system may be undersized.
Your indoor coil may be too dirty.
Your blower wheel may be too dirty.

A air handler in the attic, would be a complete new install.

Get your current system checked out.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 06:52 AM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Do I need an air handler


the new ac system was added to an exsisting furnace using the exsisting fan?the AC should be using the HI speed on the exsisting fan when running the AC if it is the same air as the heating,you need to catch the HI off the fan motor.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 06:56 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Do I need an air handler


What if its already running on high.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:07 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do I need an air handler


The ac was used with the existing furnace. I had checked about fan speeds on the furnace and i was told that it is on high
jzinacnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:11 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do I need an air handler


Whats the price of a air handler? Would it just be like patching the problem. Would I be better off getting a new furnace instead of spending the money on a handler. Im just confused whether a handler is a add on to a system or a complete sytem in itself, I have a company coming on wednesday to look at it and I think he will think that I am crazy?
jzinacnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:33 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Do I need an air handler


An air handler, is what your durnace is in cooling mode.

If you get another air handler in your attic. It would take all new duct work in the attic. And teh outdoor unit would now be connected to it.

An air handler is usually for homes that don't have hot air heat.

Get your duck work checked out by someone that knows how to size and test duct systems.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:35 AM   #8
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Do I need an air handler


You first need to determine what it is that you are referring to as an Air Handler, as you have also used the term Furnace in your posts.

A furnace is usually the terminology used for a gas heating unit that is inside of your home, that when attached to air conditioning, will also include an indoor evaporator coil box either on top of or under the furnace.

But, sometimes, the furnace can also be electric, at which point it is an electric furnace or in professional terms an Air Handler. The Air Handler or Electric Furnace will also have an evaporator coil included with it, if AC is involved.

So, to summarize: You either have an Air Handler/Electric Furnace, or you have a Gas Furnace. Either is an air handler, as it "handles" the movement of the air. (In my best Slingblade voice "Uh Huh..Umm Some folks call it a furnace, uh huh...ummm I call it an Air Handler...uh huh...ummm
__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 11:03 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do I need an air handler


I have a gas furnace with the ac coil installed on top, so after ready everything on her I guess it would be stupid to get a handler installed as it would be just a duplicate of what I have. Is ther anything I can add on or do to make the air blow faster or is it time for a new furnace
jzinacnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 11:19 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Do I need an air handler


Quote:
Originally Posted by jzinacnj View Post
I Is ther anything I can add on or do to make the air blow faster or is it time for a new furnace
Get your duck work checked out by someone that knows how to size and test duct systems.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 11:25 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do I need an air handler


thank you

jzinacnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SPace Pak Air Handler Wiring Question--208-230/60/1 metal121 HVAC 5 05-07-2009 05:52 AM
Space Pac Air Handler Wiring--208-230/60/1 Volts metal121 Electrical 4 05-05-2009 10:20 AM
Air Handler flow problems dewalt HVAC 12 04-30-2009 07:59 AM
Proper way to clean the air handler drain lines lithium1330 HVAC 2 11-25-2008 09:48 AM
Replacing air handler - How to fit when form factors are slightly different?? hennyh HVAC 2 11-16-2006 08:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.