Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2011, 12:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


This may be a dumb question, but how do I know I have a heat pump?

I recently moved into a house with a central air conditioning system. We weren't told there was a heat pump. However the thermostat has a heat setting. Whenever I turn it to heat, the transformer on the air conditioner immediately burns out.

So, do I have a malfunctioning heat pump or the wrong kind of thermostat Are there any dead give-a-ways?

There are 4 wires coming off the thermostat and going into the unit. The panel on the unit says "Lennox Heater Installed" My house does have an electrical heat, but it is inadequate to heat the house by itself. Last winter I relied primarily on a pellet stove.

The central air system itself is about 20 years old and is due for replacement, although I am hoping to get one more year out of it before I have to drop 10K on a new system.

Thanks for the help


Last edited by Woodsman; 08-19-2011 at 12:31 PM.
Woodsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 12:33 PM   #2
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


Can you post the model and serial number on the outdoor unit?

__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 04:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


look into ur outside unit (condenser) and if you have something that looks like this you do have a heat pump system. the transformer burning out is a short somewhere in the circuit.
Attached Images
 
Final Notice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 04:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


yours will be darker in color though
Final Notice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 04:21 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


pop the stat off the subbase tell us what connections other then R,G Y W C....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 05:45 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


Twenty years old and only 4 wires at the stat,it's not a heat pump.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


I can run a heat pump with 4 wires at the stat..and 3 wires at the condenser...
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 08:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


Cool. Care to share how?
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 09:53 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


Customer went from a straight cool to a heat pump. Salesman said" no problem". It was a 2nd floor of a 3 floor condo.
Used a battery stat. Hooked up r,g,y,o. At the air handler I hooked up a ranco digital refrigeration controller with orange wire controlling a relay to close the line side of the output of stat, for heatstrip contactor. On at 100, off at 110, for the heatstrips
Outside I had 3 wires. I put in a transformer for the board power and ground. Hooked up y,o,and w. The w was ran to the heatstrip contactor to force it on, without the controller. I also put a toggle switch on the side of the air handler for emergency heat. It would kick on the fan and strips.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Master of Cold For This Useful Post:
Marty S. (08-20-2011)
Old 08-19-2011, 11:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I have a heat pump?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold
Customer went from a straight cool to a heat pump. Salesman said" no problem". It was a 2nd floor of a 3 floor condo.
Used a battery stat. Hooked up r,g,y,o. At the air handler I hooked up a ranco digital refrigeration controller with orange wire controlling a relay to close the line side of the output of stat, for heatstrip contactor. On at 100, off at 110, for the heatstrips
Outside I had 3 wires. I put in a transformer for the board power and ground. Hooked up y,o,and w. The w was ran to the heatstrip contactor to force it on, without the controller. I also put a toggle switch on the side of the air handler for emergency heat. It would kick on the fan and strips.
nice.

Final Notice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Gas heat during Defrost mgroves HVAC 15 12-18-2010 05:51 PM
New Heat Pump Problems Cooling Zombify HVAC 2 04-06-2010 03:42 PM
Need help from control guys or heat pump gurus (reversing heat pump defrost cycle) pomelo HVAC 11 03-08-2010 08:13 PM
New Install - Heat Pump Woes... mark1210 HVAC 7 03-07-2010 09:14 AM
Comparison and Heat Pump Selection help... ChrisDIY HVAC 7 03-06-2010 08:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.