DIY HVAC Total Install - HVAC - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2012, 10:34 AM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

DIY HVAC Total Install


we are in a 2500 sqft 2 storey house with only one register in each room with absolutely no issues with temps throughout so, can't see why two registers in your living room...mind you we are north of Lake Ontario and didn't install AC..colsd air is harder to circulate but if you have a return centrally located I think you should br OK

Advertisement

techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 02:58 PM   #47
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

DIY HVAC Total Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by techpappy View Post
we are in a 2500 sqft 2 storey house with only one register in each room with absolutely no issues with temps throughout so, can't see why two registers in your living room...mind you we are north of Lake Ontario and didn't install AC..colsd air is harder to circulate but if you have a return centrally located I think you should br OK

And your registers are probably on the outside walls. Look at his layout.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:50 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

DIY HVAC Total Install


Hi Been There ... I believe his layout was tentative pending comments and if you go back to previous threads I have already advised him to place registers under windows and to move the kitchen one under a cupboard and vent out the front for kitchen supply. However I just noticed his drawing shows register for laundry room in doorway. Hopefully he can move that to inside wall AND move LR to under window as well. He may have restrictions under house to reaching those areas. I hope not. Let's not forget we are talking about a relatively small area so I would think one register should suffice.
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:53 PM   #49
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

DIY HVAC Total Install


275 sq ft.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:04 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

DIY HVAC Total Install


same size as my FR. (4" X 12" register)...no problems..however I have never measured actual duct pressures/air flows..everything worked fine from the getgo so not necessary
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:13 PM   #51
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,271
Rewards Points: 3,182
Default

DIY HVAC Total Install


Just a thought----there are many independent sheet metal shops that make up plenums and odd shaped tin work---

My neighbor had a few special pieces made up when he DIYed a new furnace---didn't cost a lot as I recall.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:17 PM   #52
Ole Wood Worker

 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,843
Rewards Points: 2,790
Blog Entries: 1
Default

DIY HVAC Total Install


I have notes of your advice, I will add a register under the window in the living room and have one where it shows now. The reason I put the register in the door of the laundry is there just any place else to put it in there, there is a clothes hamper it the right hand corner. Hopefully I can get under the house tomorrow and get some measurements. I really appreciate you guys.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim

Last edited by BigJim; 09-05-2012 at 08:19 PM. Reason: can't spell
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:30 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

DIY HVAC Total Install


That will work! going away for a few days... back atcha later..good luck with everything..I'm sure there's lots of guys out thetre who will be providing good advice..we all want to see you succeed.. Just do all the grunt work and get a pro to do the refrigerant lines and set up

Advertisement

techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to techpappy For This Useful Post:
BigJim (09-06-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conclusion to: Can I install an HVAC unit myself Madix HVAC 19 03-09-2012 02:32 PM
Can I install an HVAC unit myself? Madix HVAC 40 02-21-2012 03:48 AM
How To Install a Chimney Liner Rockford How To Guides 0 01-24-2012 11:00 AM
How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete earthad1 Building & Construction 9 10-26-2010 10:49 AM
What's prevents a good HVAC system install? Yoyizit HVAC 9 04-29-2009 06:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts