Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-16-2010, 08:46 AM   #1
RWB

Share |

Distribution box material

(Residential work)
Hello where I live they make a return box for the air handler (in the garage) out of wood. Some contractors have us (carpenters) do it instead of the HVAC guys since we tend to do a little neater job. I have noticed that some AC guys will line the wood box with fiberglass duct board and some will not.
My question is: I need to make a 3'x3' distribution box in my attic (at my home) for a duct modification (due to remodel). However I'm not that good at fabricating ductboard so I'm wondering could I just build the box out of plywood, apply a sealer inside and insulate the outside. Is there any reason why I could not use wood for this application. It would be located about midway between the end of the ductwork and the airhandler in the garage.
Appreciate all opinions or input.

RWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 10:31 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen

Best to insulate the inside. As the wood would be cool. And any air infiltration from the attic would tend to allow moisture to condense on the wood. And provide an area for mold ot grow.

This is on the return your talking about right. Since code prohibits wood on a supply that can reach temps above 120°F.

And would also have the potential for mold growth in cooling mode.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 08:34 PM   #3
RWB