Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2009, 11:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


I want to put a concrete pad under my central air units. When you disconnect the lines, do you lose all the freon or refrigerant?

Advertisement

MichaelJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:22 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


Most likely. But you should be aware that disconnecting HVAC refrigerant lines is not a DIY project.

Such a job needs to utilize an EPA approved freon recovery system.

Best to consult with a licensed HVAC contractor for such a task.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:35 PM   #3
Ice Man
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


You can "pump down" the refrigerant back into the condenser using the discharge and suction valves. You would require a set of gauges to watch your pressures as you perform this work. Close your discharge valve and turn on your a/c. watch your pressures as your suction drops to about 5 psig then totally close off your suction valve. This isolates most/all of the refrigerant into your condenser. Your lines are now free of refrigerant your able to cut your lines out and move your a/c unit.
Ice Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:37 PM   #4
Ice Man
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


If your not a licensed HVAC mechanic i would not recommend performing this task.!!!
Ice Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 06:19 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


Since you would still have some refrigerant in the lines with that method. You would still lose some refrigerant.

Need a EPA certified tech, to open up your line set, and then reconnect, vacuum and check/adjust charge.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 06:19 AM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


forget the disconnecting...place cinder blocks on each side of the condenser 24" out from the condenser..lift the condenser and slide some 2X4s across the blocks.oh almost forgot .......how to lift that condenser get 2 guys with lenghts of 2X4s 4' long each one holding their ends(facing each other) pinch the condenser,and lift it then you slide the 2X4s across the blocks.that should give you plenty of room to level out and slide a form in there...might have to disconnect the power but the lines can stay on that vertical rise.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 11:05 AM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,117
Rewards Points: 872
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


Not all freon lines have room to bend/flex and if you kink the big line then game over. Copper gets harder as it gets older so you have to be INCREDIBLY careful when lifting those units.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 02:07 PM   #8
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


make the form outside,and pour it (4" thick) then slide it under the lifted condenser...will cut down on lifting it and those cinder blocks
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:38 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Since you would still have some refrigerant in the lines with that method. You would still lose some refrigerant.
EPA allows for a "De Minimus" release of refrigerant.

Why do you need to pour concrete? I'd use a preformed pad and you should be able to raise the condensor enough to slide one in. It would be a whole lot easier then a disconnect/pumpdown/move/reconnect/braze/vacuum/adjust charge.
hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:59 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


Quote:
Originally Posted by hennyh View Post
EPA allows for a "De Minimus" release of refrigerant.
Yes they do.

But that is not a De Minimus release.

Since the EPA has regs on the level of vacuum you must pull before you open a system.

Leaving the lines with 5PSIG pressure in them, and blowing that charge, is an intentional venting.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 09:05 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


If your AC units is left disconnected with just electrical tape over the ends of the cut copper for a prolonged period will this cause damage?
m_kew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:02 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


It can. Depending how long it sits. Prolonged storage should have the ends brazed/soldered shut.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 09:30 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


its been about 1 1/2 months
m_kew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 04:15 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


It should have been sealed. It may or may not have drawn moisture into it. Moisture, compressor oil, and teh copper windings combine and make an acid that eats the motor windings, causing more acid to be former.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:41 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disconnecting Central Air Conditioner


thanks for the help, I live in a condo and the condo board had someone disconnect it without my permission because they needed to move it.

Advertisement

m_kew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Central air conditioner filters Jax newbie HVAC 4 11-10-2008 10:24 AM
Central vac, freezer, and gas water heater on same circuit? curls00 Electrical 7 03-10-2008 10:57 PM
a very odd problem with central air conditioner cooldragonshome HVAC 2 03-18-2006 02:47 PM
winterizing a central air conditioner Buckeyefan7 HVAC 2 11-29-2005 10:11 AM
Installing Central Air using existing heat ducts lvlacic HVAC 2 06-25-2005 01:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts