Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2009, 03:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Share |
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


I understand this isn't a DIY type job, but I'm just trying to get an idea. What is involved with disconnecting an AC unit and reconnecting it?

FYI- I'm getting ready to have a patio poured in my backyard and would like to have the AC temporarily moved, then re-installed after the patio is poured.

How much should I expect to pay an HVAC guy to do this for me?

mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 06:17 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


I moved your post over here to the HVAC where the HVAC gurus can help you understand the process.

Please understand that discussions of contractors' prices are strongly discouraged on this site since we're focused on DIY work. The best bet is to get some estimates and compare their proposed scope of work, qualifications, insurance, references, and of course their prices.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 08:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


Okay, thank you. And I apologize. It probably would have been more appropriate for me to ask how long of a job is it to disconnect and reconnect an AC unit?? What all needs to be done?
mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 08:50 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


Heck, no apology necessary.

If the unit has to be disconnected and removed they'll basically do this (HVAC-ers help me out if I miss something):
  • They'll recover all the refrigerant from the lines.
  • They'll disconnect or cut the lines.
  • They'll kill the power to the unit and disconnect the wire whip from the disconnect to the unit.
  • They'll physically move the unit.
  • After the concrete's in place they'll move the unit back and ensure it is level.
  • They'll re-attach the lines by brazing them.
  • They'll vacuum the system down.
  • They'll re-charge it with refrigerant.
  • They'll re-attach the electrical.
  • They'll test it.
Guessing, but I'd presume it would take only an hour or two before and after the pour assuming all goes well.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 09:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


That's about it. They should also replace the filter drier on any system that's been opened and also leak test the new installation. They should also ensure it's operating correctly.

The tech. should also use the idle time (while the vacuum pump is running) to clean your condensor and evaporator coils.

I'm guessing $500-$1000 depending on your area. It's actually a lot of time involved to do it right.

Maybe the OP in this post will tell you what his quote was (very similiar situation):

Moving AC Compressor Pipes 2'

Last edited by hennyh; 09-24-2009 at 09:17 PM.
hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 09:27 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


A prudent hvac guy will take time to check how the system operates before pumping down the system just as a reference. You have to be flying to do all that within an hour. I would not quote prices, but I would say it's about three and one half hours of billable time.
Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 09:51 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hennyh View Post
That's about it. They should also replace the filter drier on any system that's been opened and also leak test the new installation. They should also ensure it's operating correctly.

The tech. should also use the idle time (while the vacuum pump is running) to clean your condensor and evaporator coils.

I'm guessing $500-$1000 depending on your area. It's actually a lot of time involved to do it right.

Maybe the OP in this post will tell you what his quote was (very similiar situation):

Moving AC Compressor Pipes 2'
can I work for you on commission?


Just a little steep for my area is all./
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
can I work for you on commission?
Yes, go do this guy and let's split the beer:

Moving AC Compressor Pipes 2'
hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 04:50 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,736
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post



They should check its operation before disconnecting it.
  • They'll recover all the refrigerant from the lines.
  • May recover, or may pump it down.
  • They'll disconnect or cut the lines.
  • They'll kill the power to the unit and disconnect the wire whip from the disconnect to the unit.
  • They'll physically move the unit.
  • After the concrete's in place they'll move the unit back and ensure it is level.
  • They'll re-attach the lines by brazing them.
  • Hopefully they'll remove old filter drier and install a new one
  • They'll vacuum the system down.
  • They'll re-charge it with refrigerant.
  • They'll re-attach the electrical.
  • They'll test it.
Guessing, but I'd presume it would take only an hour or two before and after the pour assuming all goes well.
Plus driving time to and from to disconnect, and to reconnect.

When done right. It is not a cheap process.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:14 AM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


It ain't cheap but it ain't as bad as half the cost of a new install.


I'd put about mid range of a grand plus materials.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:45 AM   #11
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


As the OP of the post about moving my lines 2' I'll tell that the estimate was 4 hours. That came to $595 for parts and labor on Long Island, NY. And I was "simply" moving a 10' run of pipe 2'. Then again your move might be simpler as there's no brazing of new lines. But simpler still ain't simple. And I was told to figure 1 hour on the vacuum pump alone, someone is paying for that time, and I assure you, it's not the AC company.

As for the beer comment, I didn't mean that I was looking for by cousins brothers uncles neighbor's former college roommate because he happened to own a soldering iron but rather, say one of my neighbors who does this for a living and might be looking for a side job.
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:54 AM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


Too bad. I was gonna take the job for a case of Pabst Blue Ribbon and chips and dip.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 08:21 AM   #13
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


No chips and dip for you... back of the line!
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 08:35 AM   #14
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


Side job equals:

Using your bosses equipment for no charge
Using your bosses parts and making 100% on them when charged
Using your bosses sil-floss, and other incendental parts
No warranty
No insurance if somthing happens to your house
Most likely no licence

Good luck
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 11:59 AM   #15
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,258
Default

Disconnecting and Air Conditioning Unit?


What if "mopowers" has a packaged unit such as I have? With my HVAC unit if I wanted to move it, there would be the electical feed from the disconnect on the exterior brick siding, the thermostat wiring, remove the hood over the supply/return ducts, then move the unit, with help. The post(s) I am reading here seem to be written for split type units. Thanks, David

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.