Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2012, 11:05 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Discharging ac unit


I don't know what the "ghetto way" is. The only legit way to remove refrigerant is to reclaim/recover it.

Why would you NOT want to store it with refrigerant? Doing so will keep the system in much better shape, and would be a lot easier on you.

scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 01:12 PM   #17
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,065
Rewards Points: 542
Default

Discharging ac unit


Why don't you just pump it down and store it with the refrigerant in it for now. Nothing wrong with that as that is how they usually come from the mfg. Do what you need to do with the new system and then decide how to recover/discharge the refrigerant from the old unit later at your leisure.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:08 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Discharging ac unit


Ok but can some one just tell me why oil comes out with the gas ???
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:11 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Discharging ac unit


Because they are mixed together. As they should be, to assure oil return to the compressor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-03-2012)
Old 08-03-2012, 06:17 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Discharging ac unit


so if recovering the gas would the com not lose oil ?

PS
how do you add oil to home AC compressors ?
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:34 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Discharging ac unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by quanchai View Post
how do you add oil to home AC compressors ?
The correct way would be to remove all the oil from the compressor then put the specified amount on the compressor tag back in. Those mini splits are touchy. You can't just add/remove oil or refrigerant willy nilly.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-03-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 06:20 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Discharging ac unit


there must be a way to add oil ?
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 06:51 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Discharging ac unit


There are pumps you can use to force oil into the system through your charging hoses, but it's hardly a precise process, and over-oiling can cause problems too. Almost all residential systems are semi-hermetics, which basically means they are sealed systems, with the only openings being those designed for charging and checking pressures. There are no oililng ports for the refrigerant system.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scottmcd9999 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-05-2012), COLDIRON (08-05-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 06:53 AM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Discharging ac unit


I think you mean hermetic. Haven't seen a semi hermetic on a resi system.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-05-2012), COLDIRON (08-05-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 07:05 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Discharging ac unit


Doooh ... you're right, got the terms backwards.

Didn't Carrier make a low speed residential system with a semi-hermetic? I remember dragging one of those beasts out of a back yard many years back. One of the heaviest residential condensers I ever dealt with - my back remembers it to this day! Might have been one of the old low speed compressors, though, now that I think about it. Those were monsters too.

I know Chrysler had some old tanks, but I don't recall those being semi-hermetic.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 07:10 AM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Discharging ac unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmcd9999 View Post
Doooh ... you're right, got the terms backwards.

Didn't Carrier make a low speed residential system with a semi-hermetic? I remember dragging one of those beasts out of a back yard many years back. One of the heaviest residential condensers I ever dealt with - my back remembers it to this day! Might have been one of the old low speed compressors, though, now that I think about it. Those were monsters too.

I know Chrysler had some old tanks, but I don't recall those being semi-hermetic.

Carrier did a lot of strange things over the years. So I can't say they never had a semi in a resi. I just don't recall one. I'm senile though, so that doesn't mean much. LOL

The old compressors were made like a tank, to last for a long time back then, so they were heavy.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-05-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 09:28 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Discharging ac unit


Lets say you over charge a unit with gas and you want to let some of the gas out
this happend to me ones so i had to purge the over charged gas out and with the gas oil came out (TO MUCH OIL)
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:41 AM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Discharging ac unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by quanchai View Post
Lets say you over charge a unit with gas and you want to let some of the gas out
this happend to me ones so i had to purge the over charged gas out and with the gas oil came out (TO MUCH OIL)
Even Kuwait signed the Montreal Protocol.

You don't purge out extra refrigerant, you recover it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:41 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,511
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

Discharging ac unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by quanchai View Post
Lets say you over charge a unit with gas and you want to let some of the gas out
this happend to me ones so i had to purge the over charged gas out and with the gas oil came out (TO MUCH OIL)
ok I have listened to this post long enough ..have to say this....if you are a hvac mechanic with proper tools and equiptment you would not overcharge a unit..you would not release freon into the air..and i know you said you were in tim buck too...lets say you call a service company and wait ..before you end up hurting yourself...IMO ben sr
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (08-05-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 10:14 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Discharging ac unit


Well i want to fix this by my self i got a vacum pump + a empty gas recovey tank
will i lose oil from the compressor if i use this GREEN method ?

quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 11:11 AM
Had an Aire-Flo AC installed, looking for opinions mikemcd HVAC 14 08-01-2011 05:07 AM
new r-410a ac unit installation procedure(w/old unit r-22)? excalibur1 HVAC 0 06-06-2011 04:47 PM
Window A/C Unit and Supplying Power JayEnder Electrical 1 04-30-2011 08:50 PM
Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air beakon20 HVAC 4 08-13-2008 10:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.