Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2012, 09:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Share |
Default

Discharging ac unit


Hi guys i am just wondering

how do discharging a split unit without lossing the compressor oil ?

quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 06:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,219
Default

Discharging ac unit


It's illegal to discharge your unit you have to call a PRO to do it.

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:07 AM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,615
Default

Discharging ac unit


the service fittings are on the lines going in with the unit iff the oil is in the compressor lower section.it only moves out in droplets as the system runs...better use recovery/reclaim instead of discharging...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,256
Default

Discharging ac unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by quanchai View Post
Hi guys i am just wondering

how do discharging a split unit without lossing the compressor oil ?
you don't discharge a unit...you recover the refrigerant as per requirement by law....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Default

Discharging ac unit


Well i am not able to get any pro to fix this for me as i am outside the US

I have connected my gauges to the suction line and turned on the ac unit
and after 5 min i let some gas out but with the gas oil is coming out ?
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:13 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

Discharging ac unit


Great way to ruin your compressor.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,256
Default

Discharging ac unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by quanchai View Post
Well i am not able to get any pro to fix this for me as i am outside the US

I have connected my gauges to the suction line and turned on the ac unit
and after 5 min i let some gas out but with the gas oil is coming out ?
ok i have to ask....why are you doing this anyway.... what is wrong with your a/c
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Discharging ac unit


oh my.....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 08:04 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Default

Discharging ac unit


i want to uninstall the unit
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:26 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,256
Default

Discharging ac unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by quanchai View Post
i want to uninstall the unit
WHY
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 12:38 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Default

Discharging ac unit


I am installing a larger unit so i need to unistall the old one and empty its gas befor i store it

the point is that i want to store it without gas in the unit and without lossing the oil in the compressor
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:42 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Default

Discharging ac unit


You can't just install a larger outdoor unit without also upsizing the indoor section. Condensers are not "one size fits all". I realize you're trying to save money, but you're going about this entirely the wrong way.

Why do you want to replace the unit in the first place? Is it not working?
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:36 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Default

Discharging ac unit


Money is not a problem

I am not just installing a new outdoor unit i am hooking up a complete unit outdoor+indoor
the old one is 1,5 ton the new one is 3 ton

my problem is that i cant get any pro to fix this at the mean time as i am working to far away from the nearest city and stuck with the old and new unit
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:55 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Default

Discharging ac unit


You're doubling the size of the system. Is this connected to a duct system, by chance, or is this a free blowing system (like a mini-split, for example).

If it's connected to a duct system, then doubling the size of the system without changing out the ductwork is a bad idea. Ducts are designed to handle a specific amount of airflow. Think of reducing a 2" water pipe down to a 1/2" pipe - you'd get a very strong stream of water (i.e. high velocity) but not a lot of it (i.e. low volume). This tends to create a lot of backpressure on the system, which is not a good thing. Air conditioners need a specific amount of airflow across the evap coil to work correctly, and if you dramatically change the back pressure (and therefore reduce the volume) you'll end up with poor performance, poor humidity control, poor cooling, and high power consumption.

With that said: the only way to remove refrigerant from your old system is to recover/reclaim that refrigerant. You could perhaps pump the old unit down, if it's equipped to do so (and we wouldn't know unless you give us brand, model and serial numbers). Pumping the system down doesn't remove the refrigerant, it simply stores the refrigerant in the condenser section.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 07:20 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Default

Discharging ac unit


dont worry the unit is ductless - split unit

the unit is going to be stored so i dont want any gas in it

when i try to let the gas out of the system by opening the low pressure valve oil gets out with the gas the same thing happens when doing this by the high pressure side

any way to empty the gas by what is called the ghetto why without lossing the comp oil ?

quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Had an Aire-Flo AC installed, looking for opinions mikemcd HVAC 14 08-01-2011 04:07 AM
new r-410a ac unit installation procedure(w/old unit r-22)? excalibur1 HVAC 0 06-06-2011 03:47 PM
Window A/C Unit and Supplying Power JayEnder Electrical 1 04-30-2011 07:50 PM
Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air beakon20 HVAC 4 08-13-2008 09:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.