Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 02:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disable Emergency Heat On Digital Thermostat


What is the code, and proper setting, to disable the Emergency Heat on an American Standard ACONT800 Digital Thermostat? I found an install manual that has some basic codes but it does not provide the three digit EMHEAT code.

I want to run my heat pump off of my generator -- no issue there. But the air handler is on a 60AMP breaker to accomodate the electric furnace. I don't need the furnace/EMHEAT, but I do need the airhandler blower to run without the possibility of the EMHEAT kicking on and overloading my generator.

Thanks.

tlloydusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:11 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,522
Rewards Points: 2,724
Default

Disable Emergency Heat On Digital Thermostat


There is no code to disable the aux heat. However, you can get an outdoor temp sensor and lock out the aux above X temp. So when your power goes out, you just set the lock out temp below current temp by 5 or 10 degrees.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
tlloydusmc (11-04-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 09:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disable Emergency Heat On Digital Thermostat


you could just disconnect t stat wire for aux/emergancy heat from the t stat base
hvacjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:21 AM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Disable Emergency Heat On Digital Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvacjunkie View Post
you could just disconnect t stat wire for aux/emergancy heat from the t stat base
you would also have to disconnect it at the heat pump so that it doesn't call during defrost. The best option is to disconnect the w1,w2,w3 wire(s) at the air handler.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:49 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disable Emergency Heat On Digital Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
you would also have to disconnect it at the heat pump so that it doesn't call during defrost. The best option is to disconnect the w1,w2,w3 wire(s) at the air handler.
Thanks! If I disconnect the W1, W2, W3 wires, will the system still defrost properly? If not, can I leave the "W" connections in place and just disconnect the power source connector inside the air handler to the heater strip? Will disconnecting this source have other unintended consequesnces? I just want to stop the electric heat from firing up without adversely affecting other system operations.
tlloydusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:39 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,522
Rewards Points: 2,724
Default

Disable Emergency Heat On Digital Thermostat


If you disconnect the power to the heaters. then when it defrost you get nice cold air blowing out the registers for 5 to 15 minutes while it defrost. Some people don't mind that, others do.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:56 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Disable Emergency Heat On Digital Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by tlloydusmc View Post
Thanks! If I disconnect the W1, W2, W3 wires, will the system still defrost properly? If not, can I leave the "W" connections in place and just disconnect the power source connector inside the air handler to the heater strip? Will disconnecting this source have other unintended consequesnces? I just want to stop the electric heat from firing up without adversely affecting other system operations.

As BT stated it will defrost just fine it is just that the air put out from the AHU during defrost will be cold. But this is the ONLY way to keep the strip heaters from turning on while running on the generator so it would be worth it in my opinion. Defrost does not happen that often unless there is something wrong with the system.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:55 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disable Emergency Heat On Digital Thermostat


Thanks BT & hvactech. I can live with some cold air...will disconnect W-1, 2 & 3 at the air handler. Apprceiate the assist.

tlloydusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acont800, emergency heat


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frigidaire heat pump thermostat options zootjeff HVAC 6 03-24-2011 04:26 AM
heat pump wiring problem - new thermostat tygrr94 HVAC 8 01-17-2011 08:18 PM
uneven heat: testing ceiling radiant heat /finding cables/fix cables martinradiant Electrical 1 10-03-2010 08:22 PM
Upgraded to new Hunter model 44860 thermostat and now no emergency heat hlmaint HVAC 0 01-08-2010 01:17 PM
Heat Pump Blower always on gg_daman HVAC 1 12-16-2009 06:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.