Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2014, 08:46 AM   #31
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,673
Share |
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlandkpl View Post
Shame, shame beenthere. Don't you know that Greg is always right and this is his board.
Ayuh,.... Time to shred some Light on the less than truths bein' spread in this thread,...
I also live here, right near Ft. Drum,...
I have an oil burner in the cellar, even though the house is heated with an outdoor wood boiler, that I designed, 'n built by Myself,....
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
My brother is burning Kerosene in his. He had to change out the filter & put in a different Orifice. NY is taxing the heck out of Fuel oil, but he found out that Kerosene is not, and is around the same price as LPG in his area.
That, is less than true,....
NYS taxes the ship outa ALL energy,... Heavily,...
Propane is runnin' in the mid/high-$3.00 a gallon,... $3.36 yesterday, my price....
#2 fuel oil is just 'bout $4.00 a gallon,....
#1 fuel oil is 'bout .30 Higher than #2,...
Diesel is Over $4.55 a gallon,...
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
My brother did, to not use as much Kerosene, when running the furnace. It is actually running better with the new Orifice he said, then when it was using heating oil, and the Orifice he had in there, which was put in about two years ago.

Due to the prices in upstate NY, around Ft. Drum, he is looking at just going with a Propane furnace at this point, since LPG is the same cost as Kerosene.
Untrue, see above,...
'n as noted, a smaller Nozzle is a smaller Nozzle, regardless the fuel, #1, or #2....
If the boiler was over fuelin' with #2, obviously a smaller Nozzle will be more efficient even with #1 fuel, Or #2 fuel,...
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Trust me. He knows what he is doing. The guy has a higher IQ then all of us on this forum put together. As for using #2, it is more expensive as I stated up in the Ft. Drum area. Everyone up there is finding any way they can, to make their oil burning boilers & furnaces run on the cheaper fuels.

NY taxes more then any other state on heating fuel. He stated that it is going for around $5.50/gal for Heating oil up in his area right now. There is only one company also that only delivers heating oil in his area, so they pretty much are a monopoly from what those residents in that area have found out.

A lot of people he stated have started to go with Propane boilers & furnaces, or even just using Pellet stoves for heating.
That is Pure Bullship, plain, 'n simple,... Fantasy,...
See above for the Real prices,....
There's well over a Dozen oil retailers in the county, that deliver, ALL over the county,...
#1 fuel, #2 fuel, 'n Propane,....

If you want people to stop pushin' yer buttons,...
Quit spreadin' Bullship,....


Last edited by Bondo; 02-15-2014 at 08:48 AM.
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 08:52 AM   #32
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,673
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandGuy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondo
Ayuh,.... Diesel fuel, 'n home heatin' oil, are Both #2 oil,....

The only difference is, home heatin' oil has dye added to it, so's if put into a truck fuel tank, the government can over charge ya TAXES on the fuel,....

Dye, 'n the Tax load is the Only difference,.....
Actually, the red dye is in the home heating oil, indicating that it's not highway taxed. That way, when HWY or the DOT check trucks, the tank fuel better NOT be red. If it was the other way, anyone could add dye to their untaxed diesel.
Ayuh,.... Actually,... That's EXACTLY what I said,....
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 08:54 AM   #33
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


Years ago. Many customers with outside oil tanks. Would switch over to #2 oil to save money because kerosene cost so much more then #1/kerosene(at least in this state). Often on those units, we would down size the nozzle slightly also, to help reduce fuel consumption since it has more heat in it, and the furnace was usually over sized quite a bit.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 09:09 AM   #34
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,073
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


Where I am they put purple dye in gasoline for farm use as it is taxed lower or not at all. Can always remember Dad running the gauntlet down #15 highway with some purple gas after visiting the Grandfolks on the farm. Nasty fine if you got caught.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 10:52 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 117
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


Diesel (D1) works fine in furnaces. It's viscosity is a little lower than #2 fuel oil, and a little higher than K1. For a given furnace set up, you'll get higher flow rates (GPH) with diesel than #2. This somewhat offsets the lower BTU content.

Ideally you'd change nozzles and adjust the fuel pressure and air to get the best set up.
eandjsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 11:57 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 192
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


maybe it's a smaller "orifice"?
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 03:13 PM   #37
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpyjack2013 View Post
maybe it's a smaller "orifice"?
An orifice doesn't control angle and pattern. A nozzle does.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 04:39 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 192
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


yeah I now just poking the"bear" and let's not forget pump pressure????????
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 02:28 PM   #39
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,673
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by eandjsdad View Post
Diesel (D1) works fine in furnaces. It's viscosity is a little lower than #2 fuel oil, and a little higher than K1. For a given furnace set up, you'll get higher flow rates (GPH) with diesel than #2. This somewhat offsets the lower BTU content.

Ideally you'd change nozzles and adjust the fuel pressure and air to get the best set up.
Ayuh,.... D1, is just winter blended diesel fuel,...

Dependin' on where on the planet yer at, it's just #2 fuel oil cut with 20% to 40%, #1 fuel oil,....

Still No reason to change the Nozzle,...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 02:14 PM   #40
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 259
Default

Diesel in an Oil Furnace Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by eandjsdad View Post
Diesel (D1) works fine in furnaces. It's viscosity is a little lower than #2 fuel oil, and a little higher than K1. For a given furnace set up, you'll get higher flow rates (GPH) with diesel than #2. This somewhat offsets the lower BTU content.

Ideally you'd change nozzles and adjust the fuel pressure and air to get the best set up.
Believe it or not, a B-52 bomber is also spec'd to run on all three!

b

sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne furnace, error code: Pressure switch stuck closed. javagrendel HVAC 21 03-25-2013 01:14 PM
Gas Furnace Hiccups hugocraft HVAC 2 12-22-2012 06:50 AM
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 07:01 AM
Gas furnace exhaust vent question nowell HVAC 7 01-30-2012 08:31 AM
Furnace port, and combustion chamber crack question. cjf1980 HVAC 0 07-27-2009 09:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.