Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2009, 10:31 AM   #1
Z07
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


I'm trying to help my brother out. His house has two HVAC units one serves the lower floors and one serves the upper floor. They are identical Whirlpool models circa 1985.

The units failed to cool about a year apart from each other so this is an old problem.

The heating portion of both units works flawlessly.

When cool is selected and the temp is set below ambient the blower comes on but there is no sound what-so-ever from the compressor units located out back. These units have two motors each. One turns the fan while the other turns the compressor and neither unit's motors make any noise. I pulled the capacitors and tested them and they were within spec. I doubted myself and took them to a shop and they verified that although their cases were encrusted with rust they were within spec. I did not see any evidence of ot taletell sign of electrical arcing or melted wires etc.

One of the units was serviced by a pro two years ago and received a new compressor.

What I need is a guide. I would like a diagnostic map to follow to pinpoint the problem to attempt a DIY repair.

Thanks for reading my post.

Z07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 04:25 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


Did you check to make sure there is power to the units?

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 04:36 PM   #3
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


A good V.M. can help along the way trying to find problems
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


Post a schematic; a generalized fault tree for this task would be huge.
You measure voltages and currents, we interpret.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:40 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Post a schematic; a generalized fault tree for this task would be huge.
You measure voltages and currents, we interpret.
Whata 'ya mean "WE", white man?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:52 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


Me know how Kemo Sabe
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 06:16 PM   #7
Z07
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


I only checked voltages at the contactor's terminals. I got 105-108ish AC at the two "hot" wires red and black. I was confused by the CTC line so I checked it for 12 DC 24 DC and 24 AC I didn't get anything in the "call for cool" terminals of the contactor but that doesn't mean I tested those two terminals properly. I was tempted to manually close the contactor briefly but I didn't do it. What would happen if I did close the contactor with a well insulated "stick" pushing the spring-loaded arm down to the AC contacts?
Z07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 06:37 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


It is supposed to 220 to 240-ish. That low a reading you got would only be 216v across both supply legs.

Check for supply voltage , Check for blown fuses or tripped breakers. Could have a burned off conductors in the ac disconnect.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:21 PM   #9
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Diagnostic map for AC


contactor not closing, I would think control power. 24v coming out to condenser?

qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagnostic Code: Primary Limit Circuit Open arete01 HVAC 2 12-30-2008 08:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.