Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2009, 03:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Share |
Default

determining duct size and placement


i am planning to install a furnace and duct work in a house that had radiant heat. where should i place the vents, renturn vents, and what size ducts should i use? the house is 1904 sq.ft, 2 story, 4 bedroom, cleveland ohio, new windows up, old down, insullation up, none down. full sized basement.

drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 03:25 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

determining duct size and placement


Duct sizes are determined by how many CFM your house needs.
This can be found by doing a load calc.

Which is also how you determine what size furnace your house needs.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

determining duct size and placement


doing a load calc sounds like alot of fun. i majored in physics, what is the formula for doing the calc?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:42 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

determining duct size and placement


If you use this program, its easier, then doing all the long math.

http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 09:25 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

determining duct size and placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by drewhart View Post
doing a load calc sounds like alot of fun. i majored in physics, what is the formula for doing the calc?
Aw jeeze....we got another Oppenheimer...
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:47 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

determining duct size and placement


Step one is to size your furnace. Manual J is what will do that for you or HVAC-Calc. Manual D is what is needed in planning your duct work.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:59 AM   #7
Member
 
tk03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 167
Default

determining duct size and placement


I don't understand why you would want to eliminate a radiant system for a forced air system unles the radiant system is not working. The comfort level between the two is very different. If you are doing this here is another site to check for more heat loss info and the importance of
www.comfort-calc.net/home-page.html

Last edited by tk03; 01-27-2009 at 09:01 AM.
tk03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 06:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

determining duct size and placement


yes the radiant heat system was severly damaged. the entire system must have frooze in the past ( i recently bought the house) the boiler has a big hole in it, and lots of pipes in the walls have long slits in them. some of the radiators leak, and most of the flanges in the basement lines leak. and all this was found before the system was fully filled up (no pressure or heat).

i have spoken to many experts in the field, all of whom say not to put in a full forced air system. they all say to run pex tubing to basboard heaters, or, the idea i like best, install electric baseboard heat on the second floor, along with a small furnace for the first floor.

the quote i got to install a new boiler was 6,000. so i do not want to go the pex tube route.
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 06:21 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

determining duct size and placement


i am planning on installing a furnace to heat the first floor of a home. (second floor will be heated by electric base heat). i am installing a furnace only, no cooling. when calculating the availble static pressure, there will be no subtraction for a coil right? it seems the coil causes the largest pressure drop. the filter, registers and return grills cause a small drop in comparrison. does this mean that without cooling, the duct design will be smaller?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:15 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

determining duct size and placement


i downloaded this program's free trial. i entered all the information for the house and it says "free trial" in the box about the total heat loss. i dont think they give the answer for free. does anyone want to help me out if i provide you with the numbers?

or rather, does anyone know where i can get manual J? i would like to do this calculation by hand. i read the manual on duct design at the library today, but they dont have manual J.
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:46 PM   #11
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

determining duct size and placement


Buy one like we pros and HOs did.

Penny wise pound foolish
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:49 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

determining duct size and placement


Amazon may sell it.
You can also buy it from ACCA.

Check the furnace. Some furnaces want you to use a low ESP when its heat only.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:11 PM   #13
Licensed P.E./Home Insp
 
Aggie67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 587
Default

determining duct size and placement


Quote:
Originally Posted by drewhart View Post
i dont think they give the answer for free. does anyone want to help me out if i provide you with the numbers?
When it comes to calculations from licensed professionals, very little is free. I doubt someone is going to give away a set of calcs for you, unless you know someone personally that can do them.
Aggie67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:03 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

determining duct size and placement


He ain't gettin' mines fo' free. MM MMM, BROTHER
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 10:04 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

determining duct size and placement


is it ok if i use electric baseboard heaters on the second floor to issolate the first floor as a one story house when doing this calc?

drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.