Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-27-2013, 11:05 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Deflect Computer heat for a "Data Furnace"

I have a small technology business and have moved a rack of computers into my home from my office. These computers are duplicates of production machines for backup and replication use only, so they do not require a data center like environment. That said, they still run 24x7 and produce a great deal of heat. Unlike deflecting a dryer vent, the output air is clean and dry, so it would seem safe to me to deflect this heat back into my home heating system. That said, I am not an HVAC pro and would be very grateful to receive any feedback on the concept.

Some details:
  • I plan to locate the severs in a closet [built for this purpose] that is within 5 feet of the furnace. Everything is in the basement. The closet would be part of the finished basement area. The furnace and hot water heater are in an unfinished room of the basement.
  • It's a forced air system
  • I would install some type of deflector that would route the heat outside during warm months and into the heating system during cool months.

Questions:
  • Am I crazy? If so, why is this be a bad idea?
  • If this makes some sense, should I connect the hot air into the system's return or the furnace output? My concern is if I connect to the return, when the furnace is not running the hot air will blow throughout the house's return vents. However, I don't know if that is even a problem?

Thanks in advance,
JL

jlds01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 11:38 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Seems like it might work, If your closet is enclosed and finished, meaning sheetrock and tape to seal the room. Then add a 12" duct to the room with a 12" fan blowing the air out. You could add a wye in the duct to direct it outside or into existing ductwork.