Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2010, 09:26 PM   #1
Newly Retired
 
tuchodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cariboo BC Canada
Posts: 119
Share |
Default

DC Motor for Furnace


I am planing on changing my AC fan motor in my furnace over to a DC motor. Has anyone done this and if so what voltage did you go to and has it been successful? I am doing this to use my furnace fan to continually run to circulate heat from a wood stove.

tuchodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:15 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

DC Motor for Furnace


Are you trying to use a regular DC motor instead of a ECM motor?

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:14 AM   #3
Newly Retired
 
tuchodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cariboo BC Canada
Posts: 119
Default

DC Motor for Furnace


No it will be a ECPM or a ECM.
tuchodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:26 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

DC Motor for Furnace


There are retrofit motors that you can get and use from Genteq.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
tuchodi (08-07-2010)
Old 08-12-2010, 10:17 AM   #5
Newly Retired
 
tuchodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cariboo BC Canada
Posts: 119
Default

DC Motor for Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
There are retrofit motors that you can get and use from Genteq.
I just had an e-mail back from Genteq and they only supply ECM motors to OEM's and do not sell any retrofit ones. That is at least in Canada. Does anyone know of a dealer that sells the ECM retrofit motors in the USA.
tuchodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 04:55 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,073
Default

DC Motor for Furnace


There are Emerson Eco Tech universal motors (ECM) non variable speed available in Canada. The variable speed ones are ONLY available OEM to furnaces as they have to be controlled by a specific brand of circuit board. Try Acklands Grainger.

http://www.emersonclimate.com/en-US/...e_ecotech.aspx
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 08-12-2010 at 05:06 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 06:54 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

DC Motor for Furnace


The Genteq is an Emersom ECM.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.