Dayton Gas Furnace Burners Wont Stay Lit - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2009, 05:17 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
How much for a new amp? This seems to be a good candidate.
Dunno, is it built in with the circuit board controller? I believe most of them are all one piece flame safety equipment. see if you can find some numbers on the board that the flame rod is plugged into, I may be able to find you a decent deal.

Advertisement

Viper16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:50 PM   #32
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper16 View Post
there really isn't a way to over stress your flame rod...it is just metal material. i would bet there is poor signal quality or a flame amplifier is messed up/intermittent.

The flame light will light when there is a flame sensed from the rod, this will only light up once the other interlocks have been proved.
BTW, what other INTERLOCKS do you refer to?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:54 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


The original post indicated there was a trouble code indicating a problem with a pressure switch connection. Also, you mentioned a damp basement. It is possible there is a crud build-up in the inducer housing assembly. Cannot say for sure, without being there. If one knows how to use a multi-meter, it is a great tool for troubleshooting just about any electric appliance. but, that is another topic.

Not saying this is a fix, but, it may be the cure: Take a paper clip, pull off the rubber hose that is attached to the inducer blower housing (at the housing) with the paper clip, (I know this sounds nasty) ream the nipple to clear out any possible obstruction. It is possible that the crud has blocked the suction outlet on the motor.

I have rarely had to replace a flame rod. Good luck
Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 10:18 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
BTW, what other INTERLOCKS do you refer to?
interlocks are air switches, gas pressure switches, temperature switches, and the flame rod amplifier has a switch in it that proves the flame when there should be a flame.
Viper16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 08:51 AM   #35
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper16 View Post
interlocks are air switches, gas pressure switches, temperature switches, and the flame rod amplifier has a switch in it that proves the flame when there should be a flame.

Too loose an explanation for me. DI Or HSI prove flame or droppes out i n .80 seconds.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 09:06 AM   #36
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashheatingand View Post
The original post indicated there was a trouble code indicating a problem with a pressure switch connection. Also, you mentioned a damp basement. It is possible there is a crud build-up in the inducer housing assembly. Cannot say for sure, without being there. If one knows how to use a multi-meter, it is a great tool for troubleshooting just about any electric appliance. but, that is another topic.

Not saying this is a fix, but, it may be the cure: Take a paper clip, pull off the rubber hose that is attached to the inducer blower housing (at the housing) with the paper clip, (I know this sounds nasty) ream the nipple to clear out any possible obstruction. It is possible that the crud has blocked the suction outlet on the motor.

I have rarely had to replace a flame rod. Good luck

This is true. I have not changed a flame sensor since my butter fingers dropped th existing one. And that was soo long ago I can't remember when it happened.

A paper clip is is sometimes too thick for the hose orifice on inducer motor,

I use a 1/16 drill bit with a cordless drill set to it's lowest setting carefully clean/ream the inducer orifice, and the press switch orifice, I carefully use a piece of stat cable and work it carefully around in the press switch orifice and then retry the furnace.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 10-07-2009 at 09:13 AM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 09:10 AM   #37
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


lmkllm
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 01:23 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


I have a dayton furnace, and if it is the 80% type (you will know what kind if it has a pvc or metal exhaust pipe). I had the same problem u have, and what it probably is a cracked heat exchanger. The furnace fires up and the flames are escaping into the plenum and is tripping the flame sensor.

Disclamer: if u try this I am not liable for personal injury or property damage.

info removed, please do not advise people to try something that may be dangerous
Master_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 05:38 PM   #39
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dayton Gas Furnace burners wont stay lit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master_01 View Post
I have a dayton furnace, and if it is the 80% type (you will know what kind if it has a pvc or metal exhaust pipe). I had the same problem u have, and what it probably is a cracked heat exchanger. The furnace fires up and the flames are escaping into the plenum and is tripping the flame sensor.

Disclamer: if u try this I am not liable for personal injury or property damage
The mods should delete this post.
I don't know where this guy got this advice from (he might just be trolling)but it is not possible to jump a flame sensor. But to post anything that includes by passing necessary safety components is just plain
negligence.

This is not a cracked heat exchanger either so Master_01 does not know his head from his hind parts it would seem.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on franko HVAC 25 12-08-2011 05:14 PM
Furnace burners flame out after a few seconds snurb HVAC 3 01-13-2009 08:58 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
dayton furnace cycle prob. firefighter23 HVAC 4 02-01-2008 06:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts