Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 11:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Hello All,

I am trying to install this as a replacement for a condenser fan motor. I followed the 4 wire install. Sounds good and rotation is correct, but..

1. It draws 5 amps, better than 2x nameplate, simply used the original dual cap but its 7.5mfd instead of the 5mfd spec on nameplate. Can this cause the overcurent?

2. The compressor sounds good but seems to draw too little current. As there is no freon yet in this system I don't want to run it very long. So, would it run at low current empty and is it bad to run empty?

jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 12:21 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Running a compressor with no refrigerant in the system tends to kill the compressor.

Need to have the correct sized cap for the fan motor.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 12:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dayton 4m205j install


beenthere,
Thanks for the quick response. I intend to buy the correct cap and have freon installed. I am not capable of installing the freon, but I want the unit electrically ready, without the freon there's no other reason to run it. So, 2x current on the fan and low current on the comp? How long, seconds, minutes, or hours will burn up the comp and can compressors run backwards?
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:28 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

dayton 4m205j install


If wired run at the cap, it could run backwards.

How long to kill it, varies. Some a few minutes, others hours.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 04:48 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

dayton 4m205j install


What BT said, just get the right size cap. The compressor needs the right size as well.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:18 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Yes, a higher mfd run capacitor will have the fan motor draw more current as it spins faster. The cap needs to match the motor precisely.

How does this system not have any refrigerant in it?
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Doc,
Its a long sorry story. But, at risk of being boring, I will continue. Have 2 of the 5 ton ac units. One lost the evaporator, the other burned up the wires. Without the funds to have the evap replaced, I used those parts to trouble shoot the burned wire one. Now I just want to get the no freon one electrically ready for freon.

Thanks
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:30 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dayton 4m205j install


the other question was the low current on the no freon unit.
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:31 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Its doing no work, so amp draw should be low.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
jb64 (05-07-2012)
Old 05-06-2012, 05:38 PM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

dayton 4m205j install


You are doing a lot of damage internally to the windings of the compressor as well as to the mechanical piston/scrolling parts of the motor. You don't turn on your car's engine without oil in it, do you? Same thing with a compressor. There's oil in the refrigerant which keep the compressor cool and lubricated.

Next time you turn it on might be the last time it ever comes on as it may lock and sieze up. Then you'll be back at square one.

I can't say what's going on with the low amperage draw. It could be that the the windings are already weak.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
jb64 (05-07-2012)
Old 05-06-2012, 05:39 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Its doing no work, so amp draw should be low.

This.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:47 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Thanks Guys,
I'm not asking wire colors, whining this has 3 wires, this has 4, what do I do. So, I may be able to help you sometime. Any help you can provide is appreciated, however brief (bt). This is my first day here and I like you gents. and the other people here, mostly.
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:50 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Doc & Beenthere,
Right cap-right current. Thanks alot. I was able to sit inthe house yesterday(grainger closed) and not fool around outside with this.

Guys, I'll start a new thread, "Wires on Fire". please check for it.
jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:57 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dayton 4m205j install


Oh yeah, disconnected the compressor power per your advice

jb64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oak stair tread and riser install tips MTWI Carpentry 6 05-04-2012 05:46 PM
How To Install a Chimney Liner Rockford How To Guides 0 01-24-2012 10:00 AM
Aprilaire 560 Install Questions MisterTFM HVAC 4 12-15-2011 12:35 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 08:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.