Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-22-2012, 11:01 AM   #1

Share |

Day & Night Issues

Newbie here, located in central CA. I buy and sell used and surplus for a living, and try to be a DIY guy for the most part. We started having issues with our 20 year old D & N model 376CAV, and came across this forum in search of answers. Hope you can point me in the right direction.

The heater (propane) started operating erratically this winter, cycling on and off at odd times. Replaced the thermostat with no improvement. I've had issues with the gas pressure switch before, but it tests OK. A little snooping started pointing to the lockout timer. I removed it, opened it up, gave it a good bath with contact cleaner (including the relay). That seemed to help for a bit, then it repeated the problem. It started to warm up outside, so I decided to postpone buying a new lockout until I could find a better price.

Yesterday, it got hot enough for the wife to use the air conditioner, and it does the same thing. I was under the impression that the lockout timer only controlled the heater, but now I'm not sure. Does it also control the AC, or do I need to look somewhere else? Today I plan to open it up and clean all of the electrical plugs.

Any other ideas? Thanks in advance for any help.

itlldue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:31 AM   #2

Day & Night Issues