Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2012, 07:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Share |
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


The 6 x 10 boot I have is about 3/4" too deep for my joist bay (2x6), and of course I have to learn to measure joist depth the hard way. So I have a 6 x 10 hole cut out of the floor, but I can't find anything that size that has a 4 inch inlet.

...What are my options? I was thinking of installing a 4x10 and using a 6x10 grille but I presume that wouldn't work. Is there 6 x 10 x 4 90 boots available anywhere at all?

Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:30 PM   #2
Haverhill Trade 1965
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 532
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


They make reducers (and enlargers turned around)? as long as you go up not down in size.

Duckweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


The issue is the 6" inlet to the 90 boot, so I'm goingt o have to get a boot with a 4" inlet in order for it to fit in the joist bay, but I can't find any in a 6 x 10 size :|
Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:47 PM   #4
Haverhill Trade 1965
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 532
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


Can you use the 6" boot and a 6" to 4" reducer?
Duckweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckweather View Post
Can you use the 6" boot and a 6" to 4" reducer?
No, I can't use a 6" boot at all. It's too deep for the joist bay. I have to a use 4" one, but I don't know how to deal with the 6x10 hole I have cut out.
Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:32 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,732
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


So this is a bathroom, or small closet your running this line to.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 300
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


google is your friend here!!! look up local sheet metal shops. Draw an exactly measured picture of what you are trying to do... (ie 6 x 10 box that needs a 6 inch duct). A good sheet metal shop will be able to make up what you want... now understand that the end result will most likely have a 6 inch duct pushed into an oval or something else really strange, but a good tin knocker can make you what you need. Printed out digital pictures of the whole would help also..... good luck and I sure you will get a great result.
bobinphx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobinphx For This Useful Post:
Ravenworks (06-21-2012)
Old 06-20-2012, 11:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


I'll think about the sheet metal shop idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
So this is a bathroom, or small closet your running this line to.
80 square foot bedroom.

I mean I suppose I could beat the crap out of the boot until it's flat enough, and just try to make the flex duct fit or something. I already know I'd have to compress the duct, which I know isn't optimal but it may be necessary. I'm never buying a century+ old house again.
Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:16 AM   #9
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


The problem is not an old house,the problem is your lack of knowledge on how to do the work you want done.
If you think you can heat a room with a 4" run of flex duct,you have me laughing my head off.
If you were to use hard metal all the way ,you would get about 30 cfm's out of it.With flex,you would get if lucky about 12 cfm's out of it.
You can't heat a closet with 12 cfm's.
Then ,,,THEN I'm not even going to ask what kind of return air you will have.I want you to take an ermpty 2 litre soda bottle and try to blow your warm breathe into it.Now what do you have??? you have nothing in the bottle because there is nowhere for the old cool air to escape to be replaced with your warm breathe.
I strongly suggest if you want that room to ever be warm,you at least hire a real pro to tell you how to do it right.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 04:16 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,732
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


The 6X10 can be trimmed down so it fits further up in the joist space.

4" is used mostly for small powder rooms.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 05:04 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


I think I'm just going to end up furring out an inch or so and calling it a crappy soffit. I already have headroom issues as it is (82 inches) but an extra 2 coming off on that one bay (which is against a wall) isn't going to kill me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by REP View Post
The problem is not an old house,the problem is your lack of knowledge on how to do the work you want done.
If you think you can heat a room with a 4" run of flex duct,you have me laughing my head off.
If you were to use hard metal all the way ,you would get about 30 cfm's out of it.With flex,you would get if lucky about 12 cfm's out of it.
You can't heat a closet with 12 cfm's.
Then ,,,THEN I'm not even going to ask what kind of return air you will have.I want you to take an ermpty 2 litre soda bottle and try to blow your warm breathe into it.Now what do you have??? you have nothing in the bottle because there is nowhere for the old cool air to escape to be replaced with your warm breathe.
I strongly suggest if you want that room to ever be warm,you at least hire a real pro to tell you how to do it right.
Thanks for the elitist attitude on a DIY forum. Much appreciated.
Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 05:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The 6X10 can be trimmed down so it fits further up in the joist space.

4" is used mostly for small powder rooms.
It already sits up as high as it can go. This is basically what I'm using, except it's 6x10 instead of 4x10. The round inlet is what's too large for the joist bay.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_36418-85334-...t=6+metal+duct
Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 05:31 PM   #13
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 436
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


As an elitist, what size are the joists you are cramming this in?
Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 05:37 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
As an elitist, what size are the joists you are cramming this in?
2x6 as stated in my OP.
Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 06:47 PM   #15
Haverhill Trade 1965
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 532
Default

cut out a 6x10 hole, but need to use 4 inch duct


TRY quick trip to a place that sells ductwork. There are other things not called a boot. there are flat rectangular ducts with an elbow and then 6" round to rectangle. I know I have seen HVAC guys do all kinds of things in tight spaces. The education may be worth more than the trip there.

Duckweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
?an Insulated Flexible Duct - half attached and half unattached ? tran Roofing/Siding 2 06-21-2012 06:25 PM
adding duct work and outlet jjrbus HVAC 17 05-30-2010 02:13 PM
60 year old duct system with 4 inch ducts kjseattle HVAC 5 06-27-2009 09:08 PM
hanging 9" kitchen cabinet (wall) and hit air duct, no stud phunam04 Building & Construction 4 06-16-2009 10:08 PM
A Hole to Nowhere fw2007 Electrical 12 03-24-2008 10:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.