Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-07-2011, 11:39 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Cumberland outdoor unit not coming on

Hi I am new to is board but have found a lot of good info. I believe the unit is from 2002 and there is a flashing light on the circuit board. Any ideas what is going on? Let me know what additional info I need to provide.

*I hear a buzz but the fan will not kick on.

Last edited by Xmc_1978; 08-07-2011 at 11:43 AM. Reason: Add info
Xmc_1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:54 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry

Rewards Points: 22

Fan run capacitor or fan motor, or both but usually just one and hopefully just the cap. You have a digital meter that reads microfarads?

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:57 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 0

Unfortunately I do not. What brand meter should I purchase?
Xmc_1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 12:22 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry

You can check the amp draw with a cheap meter of the fan or the continuity of the motor windings with any old cheap meter that has amp and ohms.