Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2009, 05:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cross referance ac compressor


I am trying to replace my old compressor with a new up to date unit and I cant find a crossreferance. the old unit is a GE Executive high efficency Model BTN 936A100 AO . I think it is a 3 ton unit can someone help me out
thanks

AVONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 07:43 PM   #2
Supplier
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cross referance ac compressor


Hi there, is that compressor off an a/c condenser? What is the manufacturer and model number of the unit? Maybe we can help you out with those information.
gsistore

gsistore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 07:44 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,080
Rewards Points: 3,820
Default

cross referance ac compressor


If your replacing the whole outdoor unit.
Replave teh indoor unit/coil also.
That GE, was about a 6 SEER.
No new unit is compatible with its indoor unit/coil.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:32 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

cross referance ac compressor


6 SEER


Jeez that one ain't been around too long has it?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:40 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,080
Rewards Points: 3,820
Default

cross referance ac compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
6 SEER


Jeez that one ain't been around too long has it?
Built better then the Energizer bunny though.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:47 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

cross referance ac compressor


yeah but those thing make the pressure setting on my torch set do fuuny stuff when I burn off fuzzies from the condenser.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:37 PM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

cross referance ac compressor


I wouldn't put a new compressor in that old condenser.. Replace entire unit with new evap. coil
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:35 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cross referance ac compressor


Ge model#btn936a100ao

AVONMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air compressor and framing nailer for DIY ADKstorm Tools 20 11-11-2010 08:38 AM
Compressor Replacement Lawrence Coppar HVAC 1 06-30-2009 11:50 AM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 09:13 AM
air compressor - dangerous???? reds_21 General DIY Discussions 23 04-25-2008 11:17 PM
Fridge compressor convert to air compressor? jogr Appliances 1 04-24-2008 02:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.