Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2011, 07:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

CPH - Compressor Cycle Rate


I understand that setting the thermostat CPH to 3, yields 3 10 minute on/10 minute off cycles per hour.
My heat pump has a 2 stage compressor and the thermostat has CPH control for both stages. Why would you set Stage 1 to a different CPH from the Stage 2 compressor?

OscarNelsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:34 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

CPH - Compressor Cycle Rate


you would not.... both should be cph of 3

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 09:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default

CPH - Compressor Cycle Rate


Thanks for your response. I have no intention of changing these settings, but want to learn. I have installed a couple of programmables, but never on a 2 stage system. Why are there separate CPH controls for the compressor stages?
OscarNelsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 04:29 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,843
Default

CPH - Compressor Cycle Rate


Quote:
Originally Posted by OscarNelsen View Post
Thanks for your response. I have no intention of changing these settings, but want to learn. I have installed a couple of programmables, but never on a 2 stage system. Why are there separate CPH controls for the compressor stages?
Because it changes how tight the temp control is. Some people like the system to shut off even at higher outdoor temps. Some people prefer the greater comfort of a unit that is running longer during the mid to 80% of design condition temp days of the summer.

A CPH setting of 3 doesn't mean it will run 3 10 minute on 10 minute off cycles per hour all the time. That is just what it will attemp and is only accurate at 50% load.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
OscarNelsen (03-01-2011)
Old 03-01-2011, 08:01 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default

CPH - Compressor Cycle Rate


Thanks. I realize that what I am learnig most is the less I know.
OscarNelsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 03:25 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,843
Default

CPH - Compressor Cycle Rate


We all learn that there is always more to learn.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bobcat Going rate question Joe1. Off Topic 0 09-07-2010 01:42 PM
Natural Gas "Flow Rate Check"? BSYarg General DIY Discussions 4 08-13-2010 06:22 PM
Drop Rate on Scott's Drop Spreader SPS-1 Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 04-28-2009 08:24 PM
going rate of tile laying samiller1980 Flooring 2 12-03-2008 04:03 PM
Whats the going rate for a FULL cement truck? 6/2008 price? ehoez Building & Construction 15 06-18-2008 12:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.