Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2011, 09:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Share |
Default

cost of furnace replacement


I have a 10 kw York electric furnace and its too small to heat the house, I need a 12 kw furnace. I looked online and they range from $4-800. If I go through a contractor there ill be a mark up plus labor of removing old one and installing the new one. How much should I expect to spend?

Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:18 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,813
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Call contractors in your area, and several quotes. Only way for you to know what prices are in your area.

Are you sure you furnace can't have 12 KW installed in it?

Don't forget, you'll need a larger or second electric line ran to a large electric furnace.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Well its a York and they don't make a 12 kw heat strip for it. Not sure if that matters.
Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 03:52 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,813
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roundeye View Post
Well its a York and they don't make a 12 kw heat strip for it. Not sure if that matters.
In that case you would go to a 15KW kit.

Many brands don't have a 12.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 04:54 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Already been told in order to use the 15 kw kit I would have to upgrade the air handler, not to mention 15 kw is too big for my house
Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 04:58 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,813
Default

cost of furnace replacement


What size wire is ran to your current air handler/furnace?

Most homes only need 11KW or 17 KW, and have either a 15 instead of the 11, or a 20 instead of a 17. The last set of aux is cycled on and off as needed, and not used all the time.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 05:41 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Have you sealed the attic penetrations yet and how much insulation is up there? Shouldn't be too hard to knock 7000 BTU off of the house load.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 02:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Well the heating guy recommended adding a heat pump and use my 10 kw electric furnace as backup. He said my utilities would be cheaper than putting a bigger furnace in, but I thought a heat pump was useless in colder weather.
Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 04:12 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,030
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Does your utility offer any rebates for the install of the Heat pump, or newer energy efficient HVAC equipment?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:13 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,813
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roundeye View Post
Well the heating guy recommended adding a heat pump and use my 10 kw electric furnace as backup. He said my utilities would be cheaper than putting a bigger furnace in, but I thought a heat pump was useless in colder weather.
Most heat pumps are useless below -10F. How manys days a year is your area below -10?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:26 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Usually 2-3 weeks a year. Just don't want to spend 2500 if its not gonna help much.
Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:28 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,030
Default

cost of furnace replacement


$2500 is what it cost for our A/C install. I would shop around and try to find the best deal. I got lucky and got a R-22 unit that was ordered by someone, but they never picked it up, so actually saved some money on mine. If I had to do it again, I would go with a Heat pump, since we get a huge rebate from our City owned Utility company.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:30 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,813
Default

cost of furnace replacement


So out of your whole winter/heating season, only 3 weeks would it not be saving you money on your heating bill.

It will pay for itself very quickly.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:49 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Wow. I had no idea parts of Kansas had ten below zero highs for 2-3 weeks a year. We usually get -10 temps for a few hours a year in SE Nebraska.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 05:50 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Default

cost of furnace replacement


Well, he did say it would cut my heating cost in half. The way he explained it was when it got this cold out that was yesterday and it was 27 out that my furnace would kick on to help but since my furnace is too small anyway I figured I would be in the same boat I am now.

Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Furnace Install Cost jrppa8 Off Topic 5 10-03-2010 02:48 PM
How to size a replacement gas furnace B4Dark HVAC 10 06-10-2010 09:55 PM
luxaire/york 33109167000 furnace board replacement check HVAC 18 07-13-2009 10:03 AM
Furnace combustion chamber replacement tripower HVAC 2 10-21-2008 06:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.