Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2009, 08:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Share |
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


what is involved in converting a boiler that runs on propane to natural gas? i want to buy this used one to put in my house and run it off of natural gas. the guy said it used to run on natural gas but was converted to propane, so i assume i could convert it back.

drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 11:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


is it just a matter of putting a different valve on?

drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 11:35 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


How do you know the boiler is the right size for your home and if it's in working order?

Is it steam or hot water?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 08:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


it is hot water. i dont know if its the right size. the house is 1900 sq.ft and the boiler is a weil mclain 140,000 btu. will this suffice? i just need some heat! this one i can get a good deal on, i just dont want to spend 3,000 on a new one.
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 09:23 AM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


seems way over sized to me.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 12:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


is it ok to use one way oversized?
seems to me i could run it low which would preserve it's usefull life.
this seems better that running one high which is too small right?
so what is involved in switching to natural gas?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 01:06 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,532
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


Proper sized orfices, gas valve and or spring, new burners on some models.

Also need a Manometer.

Takes the same water temp weather the boiler is over or undersized.

If the the boiler holds more water then the current one, the you also increase its standby lost, increasing how much more gas you will use.
Also, if its larger then the old boiler(BTU wise) it will need more combustion air, meaning it draws more fresh air into the house. Which you have to pay to reheat.

Your chimney may not be able to handle the larger boiler.

Attempting to derate a boilers input, can cause condensate troubles in both the boiler and chimney.

Improper conversions have caused more then one fire.
And way too many CO posionings.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 04:21 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


Been correct me if I am wrong: Derating in excess of 20% will definitely cause condensation. For a 1900 sqft home you don't even need 100k, no?

So wouldn't derating this boiler be a very chancy since the amount of reduction far exceeds 20%?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 05:07 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,532
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


Some units have problems if you try even 10%.

Might only need 80,000 for it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


I am not an HVAC tech nor do I play one on TV! But wouldn't the type of house,insulation ,windows and geographic area come into play?

Gary
Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:20 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


its a stucco house in cleveland ohio. the upstairs 4 bedrooms have been framed-in with insulation. downstairs is the original stucco/plaster walls with no insulation. all new windows up, all old windows down. i just read today on the boiler that it is 131,250 btu. it doesnt indicate whether thats input or output. there is a rating called "water sq. ft" of which it says 700. the one i want to put in here has a btu rating of 140,000.
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:26 PM   #12
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


Think about why you are getting this boiler for such a deal. Someone els removed it for some reason. That is a lot of work to install a used boiler and then have problems. If not a leak.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:33 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


of the two i am trying to decide betweem, one was replaced because they invested in a new high efficiency boiler, the other because they switched over to furnace heat. before i buy it, i want to attach a fitting so i can compress air into it to see if it leaks. is this a viable test?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:40 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,532
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary_602z View Post
I am not an HVAC tech nor do I play one on TV! But wouldn't the type of house,insulation ,windows and geographic area come into play?

Gary
Which is why I said "might" only need 80,000.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:42 PM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,353
Default

converting propane boiler to natural gas


NO! Boilers have to be heated up and full of water to see if they leak. It may lose air pressure but hold water when the sections expand. Boilers are tested with hydrostatic (water pressure).In my area there is no such thing as DIY major furnace repairs/conversions as you have to take out a permit/be licensed etc for safety and liability and insurance co. reasons. Beware if something goes wrong the fire inspector and insurance company will hang you by your neck/lawsuits etc etc.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propane tank was empty boiler does not start schrubber HVAC 3 12-30-2008 04:36 PM
converting to propane bigdog HVAC 11 12-23-2008 01:20 PM
Propane to Natural conversion higgsfamily5 Appliances 5 11-06-2008 09:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.