Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2012, 01:46 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Took the Turbo 200 back as suggested. Purchased the digital meter to be able to test mfd. The GE compressor/fan capacitor is fine. The separate start capacitor was not okay. Checked for power at the emergency disconnect and there was none. Double checked all fuses in fuse box and shut everything off and restarted. Power back at the emergency disconnect. Got all hooked back up and this is what happened. The thermostat inside the house was in the off position - so the A/C was off. When I put the emergency disconnect back in, the fan immediately started spinning. (Was that supposed to happen? I thought maybe there was a charge in the capacitor??) My wife turned on the unit inside and smoke start pouring out of the compressor. We shut everything off. I assume I need a new compressor now. Can I do this myself?

Side note: Prior to the A/C not blowing cold air anymore; my wife and daughter said that 3 times that day the power in the house flickered though we weren't having bad weather and I noticed a Centerpoint Energy truck in the area. Could these power surges be connected to what happened or did what was going on with the A/C cause the surges?

All suggestions and help appreciated.

Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:04 PM   #32
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


You need to remove the compressor power cover and check the connections at the terminals. There is a high probability that the wires are fried from a poor connection.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:22 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Removed cover to find the charred remains. The cover was melted on the inside. There was definitely a fire in there. Here are some pics:
Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:23 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:57 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 163
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


That does not look good at all! I hope your compressor is ok, if not you might as well get a new condenser. The cost of a new compressor is almost the same or maybe few more bucks plus labor. See if u can test the compressor terminals. Pull the wires off the compressor terminals. Check for continuity between each terminal. They all should have continuity between each other. (pin to pin). If they dont you got a problem. LOL

Here's a link about testing Ohms for compressors.
http://www.snipsmag.com/Articles/Fea...00f932a8c0____

Check that out also. Or it might be a good idea now to throw in the towel and call in a pro.

Good luckk

Last edited by kilosos2; 04-27-2012 at 03:28 PM.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 03:25 PM   #36
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Yes, the flickering power could have cused the problem. man y electric companies will pay for the repair if they caused the problem.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 04:26 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Quote:
Originally Posted by kilosos2 View Post
Or it might be a good idea now to throw in the towel and call in a pro.

Good luckk
All the leads are melted together so I can't check the continuity.

2 full days of trying to fix this - The towel has been thrown in. I have a pro coming tomorrow.

I called the power company that we saw out here working on the lines to try and file a claim. We'll see if they get back with me. Any tips about how to deal with them would be appreciated.

Thanks to everyone for all of your help.
Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 04:32 PM   #38
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


You'll need the report from the HVAC company of what is wrong. And probable cause.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 09:48 AM   #39
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyman67 View Post
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 12:43 PM   #40
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


looks like the fusite may have blown.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 03:37 PM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


I want to run some #'s past you guys and I have one question. The air handler and coil in the attic were replaced about 4 yrs ago. We are all electric.

This is a quote I received and it seems really high. To replace the condenser with a Trane XR13 and replace the air handler and evaporator coils and a new thermostat - $8085 or the Trane XR15 condenser/air handler/evaporator coils/thermostat $8,390. I won't even bother with the more expensive ones..I really can't afford these two. He also quoted an xb13 cond/air handler/evaporator for $6915.

Is Amana a good brand? A guy is preparing a quote for an Amana system and is going to send it to me later today.

Is it a bad idea to just replace the condenser with another R-22 unit, so that I don't have to change anything in the attic.

Thanks for your help.
Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 03:52 PM   #42
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Amana is a glorified Goodman, the higher end equipment. Same company though, same coils. The higher seer rating equipment is Amana, the lower would be Goodman.

I don't know what your seer rating is for your currently fried system but if it's a old 9 or 10 seer than you'll notice a big difference in your electric bill even if you go to the minimum made 13 seer.

Not bad prices, about fair I'd say. Slightly high to myself but nto out of the ordinary.

The condenser and the coil need to match in seer rating or you will lose efficiency.

Might think about the condenser and the evaporator only to save money. I believe that your furnace will still be blowing the same amount of air as a new one would.

I thought the city was going to pay for this?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 04:01 PM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


We have filed a claim, but I don't know if I will ever hear anything back. I have been told by the guys doing the quotes not to hold my breath. They have never seen the electric company pay.

Our burned up condenser is a 12 seer and the coil is a 12 or 13 seer. I heard one of the guys say. Would I have to open the air handler to know for sure what the seer is on the coil? Will there be a manufacturers sticker?

Thanks for your help.
Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 04:06 PM   #44
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


We work for tips.

Yes, open up the air handler and there'll be a sticker on the inside with the manufacture, model and serial number. Retrieve that information and post it. If you hurry I can call the manufacturer, if it's a brand I know, directly and find out.


Also get the make, model and serial number of the condenser.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 04:22 PM   #45
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Considering that R22 has recently doubled in price, and in another 3 years another annual production cut back is coming, which could double its price again. Staying with R22 is not really a great idea.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (05-02-2012)
Reply

Tags
capacitor, changing capacitor, contactor, hvac, turbo 200


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting 24" on center to 16" on center newbie731 Carpentry 19 02-24-2011 02:22 AM
converting laundry room to bathroom brandisophie Plumbing 8 11-07-2010 01:10 PM
Converting outdoor gas lamp to solar? PRedLSU Electrical 7 04-30-2010 08:49 PM
Converting carport to Garage 53buick Building & Construction 2 03-15-2009 04:17 PM
Converting Steam Radiators To Hot Water johnpar HVAC 4 07-30-2008 03:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.