Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2012, 08:16 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200



Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:17 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:18 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:19 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:32 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


I forgot to mention that the two blue wires on the outside are going to the compressor (herm) and the one brown on the outside is going to the fan. the one for the fan is on the 5 mfd and the two blue for the compressor - one is on the 25 mfd and one is on the 20 mfd. Because I am jumping wires there is only one spot available on the 25 mfd. Thanks again for your help.
Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:00 PM   #21
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Buy the correct capacitor and be done with it. What a waste of time and effort.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 11:58 PM   #22
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


I'm going to have to agree. No compressor starts on 25, more like fifty and on that thing you have to tie into somewhere to get 50.

Whatever the old numbers on your old caps were, go and get regular individual capacitors with only two sets of terminals





or get one dual run with both numbers,



If the compressor cap was a 50 and the fan was a 5 than it'd be a 50/5 +/- a certain percentage. Remember, the bigger number (for example in this instance the 50) is for the compressor and the smaller number, 5, would be for the fan motor.

Brand is of no importance, no need to be made by GE.

For simplest wiring a dual run capacitor would be best. Take that other one back, tell them you didn't even try to hook it up.

Come back and we'll walk you through the wiring.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:13 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


I am taking it back. Maybe the guys at grainger will know of another one that can replace the ge97f9898.Thanks for the help.


This capacitor was recommended here: Links or the full names of other DIY sites is not permitted.

as a universal capacitor replacement. Looking around online it seems to be a common use capacitor replacement capacitor. Here is the info. in case you are interested:

Over 200 Capacitors in One Amazing Unit!

Introducing AmRad's TurboŽ200.
TurboŽ200 is American Radionic's United States Patent office trademark registration number 3,141,014.
The world's first multiple tapped, fluid-filled, metal can, motor-run capacitor, which eliminates the need to inventory more than 200 individual single or dual value capacitors with a voltage rating up to 440 VAC.
The TurboŽ200 capacitor has a combined total of 67.5 microfarads (mfd), with taps at 2.5mfd, 5.0mfd, another 5.0mfd, 10.0mfd, 20.0mfd and 25.0mfd.
Each part comes individually boxed, including 5 jumper wires.

Last edited by beenthere; 04-27-2012 at 03:23 PM. Reason: removed the n ame of another DIY site
Handyman67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:22 AM   #24
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


What kind of condenser is that? Can you post the make and the model number?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:24 AM   #25
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


You need a 60/7.5 mfd. 440v dual run capacitor.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:30 AM   #26
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
You need a 60/7.5 mfd. 440v dual run capacitor.

How'd you come to that conclusion without the make and model number? I was going to find the correct size with the use of that info, beat me to the punch..
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:33 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 163
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


All those jumpers on that cap looked pretty scary! lol One wrong connection and poof ur up in smoke.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:44 AM   #28
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
How'd you come to that conclusion without the make and model number? I was going to find the correct size with the use of that info, beat me to the punch..
A simple internet search of the ge number the op had in the thread title.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:45 AM   #29
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
How'd you come to that conclusion without the make and model number? I was going to find the correct size with the use of that info, beat me to the punch..

Duh.

http://www.northamericahvac.com/serv...dsh-7.5/Detail
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:45 AM   #30
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Converting from Ge 97f9898 to Turbo 200


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
A simple internet search of the ge number the op had in the thread title.

I just did that. Thanks.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
capacitor, changing capacitor, contactor, hvac, turbo 200


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting 24" on center to 16" on center newbie731 Carpentry 19 02-24-2011 02:22 AM
converting laundry room to bathroom brandisophie Plumbing 8 11-07-2010 01:10 PM
Converting outdoor gas lamp to solar? PRedLSU Electrical 7 04-30-2010 08:49 PM
Converting carport to Garage 53buick Building & Construction 2 03-15-2009 04:17 PM
Converting Steam Radiators To Hot Water johnpar HVAC 4 07-30-2008 03:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.