Converting Existing Vertical HVAC Air Handler To Horizontal - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-18-2012, 11:14 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 12

Converting Existing Vertical HVAC Air Handler to Horizontal

I'm wondering if anyone would be able to tell me how practical (or at all possible) this task would be.

I have an existing Lennox electric furnace with A/C coil in my 3rd floor attic.

The model numbers on the lower and upper (the electric heat module) components are:

CB9-26-1FFP
ECB9-261-1P

I'm no expert in HVAC matters, but I imagine the only real trouble with turning this unit on its side (with the front access panel either facing up or facing forward) would be how to either modify the existing pan or add a new one on the bottom of whatever configuration I go with.

Does that sound right? Am I asking for trouble? Keep in mind, this is an old unit (though working fine, last I checked -- actually the condenser that goes with this unit is probably only around 10 years old), and my alternative is to probably scrap this whole system, get (I imagine) nothing for it, and have to buy a completely new system that I have a contractor install.

I've attached a few photos to help with the explanation.

If need be I can go into some more detail on this project, but frankly, they're all beside the point -- I'm mostly just wondering about the feasibility of using this existing unit (with all new duct work) in a horizontal configuration.

Thanks.
Attached Images

Advertisement

tgice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 09:59 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry

Rewards Points: 2,270

Not sure why you'd want to but yes, it can be done. They're referred to as multi-position(al) air handlers.