Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2013, 03:59 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Controlling separate heat and AC devices from a single thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
apparently, Nest thermostats are the sh*t: https://nest.com/thermostat/life-with-nest-thermostat/

a bit pricey but i think i will invest. i want to be able to use my smart phone to turn the system on 30 min before i get home to arrive to a comfortable house.
Lots of complaints about them. There are many that are happy with them though.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 03:59 PM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Controlling separate heat and AC devices from a single thermostat


you cannot cool a house down in 30 minutes but you can heat it up in 30 mins. Honeywell tstats are VERY good and I have used that IAQ system and it is good and it looks like they have a WiFi version also. not worth the extra $$ unless you really want the features but some people do.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 12-30-2013 at 04:03 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 01:38 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southeastern Massachusetts
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Controlling separate heat and AC devices from a single thermostat


I figured I would leverage this same thread to ask similar question, but with different setup.

I have an oil burner and central air. The heat is controlled by a CT87K thermostat. Red and white wires go from the T terminals on the burner's R8184 ignition control to the R and W terminals on thermostat. No other terminals are used.

The AC is controlled by an old T834C thermostat. The Y terminal is connected to one of two wires to the outdoor condenser unit. The R and G terminals are connected to the R and G terminals on the EBTDR in the air handler.

I was looking into the feasibility of using a "smart" thermostat to control both heat and cool, one that requires a C wire. I do not have one. But, I do have a sprinkler control box that uses 24VAC located in the same wall.

Assuming that the additional load from the thermostat doesn't load down the wall transformer from where it came, could I splice off the existing 24VAC and use this as my 'C' wire?

The new wifi thermostat has an R terminal, and a jumper to short Rc and R together. Since both the heat and AC have their own R wire, would I break that jumper and connect the oil burner's R wire to R, and the AC's R wire to Rc? Then I would connect W, Y and G as normal.

Thanks

debiasio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help wiring my thermostat. batalbj1 HVAC 3 03-28-2013 10:30 PM
heat pump wiring problem - new thermostat tygrr94 HVAC 8 01-17-2011 08:18 PM
Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!! MichaelG HVAC 22 12-09-2010 04:50 PM
Multi stage heat pump thermostat marriedmanw HVAC 2 02-28-2010 04:12 PM
changed thermostat on York Affinity, now no heat? sotwell HVAC 1 03-01-2009 05:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.