Control Help - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2009, 07:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

control help


hi.i have a luxaire HL5B series 2stage cooling heatpump with c,y1,y2,o,w,x/l,r,y2out,w2out,w1out wires and a gas furnace with r,w,c,y,g wires my question is can I just install a 2stage cooling heating tstat or do I need a control board ? any help would be great ,Thanks.

Advertisement


Last edited by dat201; 06-01-2009 at 07:39 PM.
dat201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 09:28 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,465
Rewards Points: 4,576
Default

control help


A 2 stage HP thermostat will work.
The defrost board is a dual fuel control.

But you won't get the performance out of that 2 stage heat pump that you should. With that single stage PSC blower furnace.
It won't have the humidity control in first stage that it would with a VS blower.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 09:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

control help


Yes, you can but, the little extra you will pay for the extra stage will be returned to you in lower operational costs and comfort.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 09:45 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,465
Rewards Points: 4,576
Default

control help


Quote:
Originally Posted by dac122 View Post
Yes, you can but, the little extra you will pay for the extra stage will be returned to you in lower operational costs and comfort.
???????????????????

No idea how you figure that.

His furnace doesn't the ability to slow down to remove moisture in first stage.
So he won't get the comfort increase from it that you speak of.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:46 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

control help


thanks for the answers.i know it's not the best furnace, for now it,s all i have.I will probably be checking on wiring it since its been over 10 years since i installed an heatpump.Thanks

Last edited by dat201; 06-02-2009 at 09:49 AM.
dat201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 11:56 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

control help


Ok ,how would you wire The thermostat?
dat201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 12:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

control help


Please provide make and model of thermostat
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 12:23 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,465
Rewards Points: 4,576
Default

control help


Stat R to furnace and HP R.
Stat C to furnace and HP C.
Stat G to furnace G.
Stat Y1 to to furnace Y and HP Y1.
Stat Y2 to HP Y2.
Stat W1 or W2(depending on thermostat) to HP W
Stat O to HP O.
HP W1 out to furnace W.
Stat X/L to HP X/L.

Then set the heat pumps defrost board to dual duel control. And set its balance point, Y2 lock, and switch over temps.

He could also install a relay to slow the blower to its lowest speed when the heat pump is in first stage heat or cooling.
But most PSC blowers won't slow enough to make a difference.

He could add a ICM or Fan Handler control, and set it up for discharge temps.
But it won't work as good as a VS blower would.
And it can't take advantage of the HP's hot heat pump feature.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 12:24 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,465
Rewards Points: 4,576
Default

control help


He'd be better off with a single stage heat pump.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 01:46 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

control help


Thank you very much,you've been very helpful.
dat201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 02:57 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,465
Rewards Points: 4,576
Default

control help


Your welcome.

But seriously.

You won't get the comfort that heat pump is suppose to give you.

When you use it with a standard blower furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:15 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

control help


thanks that will be the next project

Advertisement

dat201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tapping into well control box? jjkrem Electrical 6 02-01-2009 12:03 PM
Well pump control box delema freeonthree Electrical 36 11-02-2008 10:55 AM
control 4 switches gooch Electrical 3 01-03-2008 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts