Control Furnace Fan - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2012, 02:50 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

control furnace fan

Old Gas Furnace (Anthes LCB120)
Original 2-wire

I'd really like to control the fan upstairs with my new thermostat (2,3, 4+ wire capable); so I'd like to set it up as 3 wire (adding a 3rd "G" wire).

These furnace photos should be enough to explain what I have; photo 7 is the Fan Control. Right now there are 2 wires running from the thermostat (hooked up as 2 wire) to the blower (smaller white wires in photo 5). NOTE: the photos look broken with red X's on them but I clicked them and they show up???

The answer might be a FAN relay something or other but what should I ask for/buy and how would I hook it up with my current setup?

Could someone please help me out?
Attached Images


Last edited by ssstan69; 04-17-2012 at 02:53 PM. Reason: the photos look broken with red X's on them but I clicked them and they show up???
ssstan69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 04:07 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270

control furnace fan

Low voltage on bottom, r and c which is most likely what you have, and high voltage that is going through your fan limit to the blower across the top.

What the fan limit is doing is bringing on the flames and at a certain temperature allows the fan to come on. What you're going to need to do is take the fan limit off circuit and bring the wires through this new fan relay.

I'm not exacly certain how to go about keeping both, heat and just fan on on your configuration, as currently on call for heat the low voltage needs to go through the gas valve (as pictured in your pics) and then on call for fan it needs to go only through the fan relay.

Maybe someone with more experience with controls will chime in.


Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:31 PM   #3
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,676
Rewards Points: 868

control furnace fan

I am not seeing your photos????

My memory of an anthes makes it pretty straightforward though. Single speed blower with a 3 wire all 120V fan/limit control

A 24V/120V isolation relay will work fine.
"G" line from stat goes to one side of the 24V coil with the coil's other 24v connection going to neutral.
You can take 120 Volts from the junction box or "T" into the 120 supply for the fan/limit control to power the 120V side of the relay. The other side of the 120V relay connects to anywhere along blower supply line after it leaves the fan/limit control. What you need to be sure of is which line on the top of your fan/limit control is the blower line and which is the limit heading down to power the transformer.

Your G line pulls in the coil and connects the blower to 120V.

Now I see your photos, That's a 40YR+ furnace.

Last edited by how; 04-17-2012 at 08:00 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:16 AM   #4
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

control furnace fan

thank you for your replies...
ssstan69 is offline   Reply With Quote

furnace , setup , thermostat , wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Furnace Control Board. JJboy HVAC 2 12-19-2010 01:42 PM
Rheem 80% Furnace Short Cycling rlukas79 HVAC 0 12-19-2010 04:27 AM
Universal furnace control board Davidj0717 HVAC 1 10-14-2009 06:37 PM
heil gas furnace fan control shooter49 HVAC 1 10-24-2008 02:51 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts