Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 01:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Contactor relay not pulling in.


I am attempting to fix this myself with all the proper precautions.

- First, the contactor stopped pulling in. I ordered a new one and replaced it. New one is not pulling in either. I bought a multimeter and I am showing 24V coming out of the transformer and into the unit outside. The positive (Blue wires) then goes into a red piece connected to the coils. Not really sure what it is but there is no voltage on the lead at the relay after this point...

Picture attached. Not sure what it is.

Briank213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:43 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,608
Default

Contactor relay not pulling in.


pressure control safty(Hi or Lo?) the 24Vs for the contactor coil are in series with this....does it have a red push buttom on top might be tripped...read each of those blue wires seperatly...24V but none out it is open

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:00 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Contactor relay not pulling in.


In English, Biggles is saying that that is either a high or a low pressure switch and it's tripped/open. I can't tell from your pic but if it's a low pressure switch then your system is running low on refrigerant. If it's connected to the high side pressure line than you've got other issues, possibly a restriction in the refrigerant lines.

The switch is doing it's job of protecting the compressor. In other words you have a refrigerant problem, not a low control voltage problem.

I got your back, Biggles.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Contactor relay not pulling in.


Yep. It's on the condensing coil so it's a high pressure switch. Bad fan motor,fan motor capacitor or dirty coils cause it to trip and protect the compressor. Push the red rubber button on the end then figure out which of the above caused the problem.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:36 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,486
Default

Contactor relay not pulling in.


looks like a manual reset high pressure switch. Push the reset button in. If the condense fan doesn't run, then you know why it tripped. Also, wash your condenser coil before resetting the switch.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:04 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Contactor relay not pulling in.


Thanks for all the replies. Least its something easy I hope.

I am replacing this unit after the summer if it makes it the duration. Its older than old but its been working so im trying to run it till the wheels fall off. Sadly its got a freon leak somewhere that drains the freon each year and i have to get it filled with a grade of freon they are going to stop producing. The price on the old freon has doubled as a result.

I will hose down the coils.. but the switch may have tripped when it ran low and i had it refilled.
Briank213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:19 PM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,608
Default

Contactor relay not pulling in.


with that rate of leaking so goes the droplets of oil for the compressor that travel around during a cycle.might do a look see feel of all the refer lines to see if you pick up oil soaked armaflex or wet spots.that change out happening latter in the year the lines will need to be verified that a leak isn't there with the new stuff
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:34 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,486
Default

Contactor relay not pulling in.


Being low on charge won't make a high pressure switch trip.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (05-09-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Part of frame pulling away dougp23 Windows and Doors 2 11-24-2011 10:07 AM
Deck pulling from house bereacj Building & Construction 5 10-20-2011 10:51 AM
Help! Drywall Pulling Away from Stud on the Ceiling of our Garage Jarlanric Drywall & Plaster 8 06-23-2011 10:02 PM
Pulling up pump now its stuck -HELP plz commosmart1 Plumbing 4 05-30-2010 10:38 AM
How to measure cabling when pulling multiple at once? Red Squirrel Electrical 9 10-01-2009 09:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.