Contactor Chattering, Replaced It- Still Have Chatter - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2010, 04:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contactor chattering, replaced it- still have chatter


I have a split system (amana condensor RCC36A2E/carrier furnace) and the contactor has started chattering. I replaced the contactor figuring since the old one was pitted that this would fix it, but nope, still chatters. With power to just the thermostat (pulled the outside power), the contactor holds just fine. But once the line power is applied, it will start chattering within a minute.
Have looked over the low voltage line for cuts/nicks/etc, but didn't find anything. Cleaned/scraped and/or replaced the LV connections. Capacitor not bloated.

Can someone offer an idea as to what the problem may be?
Or how to troubleshoot it further ?

My guess is its the 15 yr old control board up in the attic unit (mod# 321257-401). I replaced the control board in the other zone/basement unit a year ago although that was an issue with the heat and I was getting an LED error code. Tested the heat on the attic unit today and it appears to be working fine. No LED codes are showing up on it either. So I hate to spend $150 to replace it if that's not it.

thanks in advance!

Advertisement

sprinkle100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:04 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

contactor chattering, replaced it- still have chatter


Use a multi meter and see if the contactor is getting enough voltage. Might only be getting 18 volts. Instead of 24 to 27.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contactor chattering, replaced it- still have chatter


Thanks beenthere for the quick response - Without line voltage it's a steady 25.7v; when I apply the line voltage it stays at 25.7 until it starts chattering and then of course it varies (although mostly showed minimal drop/ ~24v, but I guess that's because the digital meter doesn't react quick enough?)

Could it be a problem with the HPC or LPC ?
sprinkle100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

contactor chattering, replaced it- still have chatter


Its possible.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contactor chattering, replaced it- still have chatter


anyway to test/diagnose?
sprinkle100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 07:43 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

contactor chattering, replaced it- still have chatter


Ohm them out. Should be zero resistance.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 04:29 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contactor chattering, replaced it- still have chatter


checked resistance - zero across both HPC and LPC.
Any other ideas ?
sprinkle100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

contactor chattering, replaced it- still have chatter


Possible soild state compressor time delay that's tied right into the low voltage side. Try .turn off condenser line voltage. take wires off time delay.. turn power back on check for chatter.. Good Luck.

Advertisement

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced outlets, now wall switches don't work? PittsburghPaul Electrical 3 08-09-2009 06:50 PM
Replaced kitchen faucet - now less hot water? sde Plumbing 5 05-26-2009 04:16 AM
New subfloor , replaced toilet- problems lthihope Plumbing 4 05-12-2009 09:17 AM
should I replaced the deck? renoet Carpentry 18 03-23-2009 04:02 PM
Replaced all circuit breakers still not working? wrxry77 Electrical 6 06-05-2008 09:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts