Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2009, 12:54 AM   #61
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


sorry about re hashing post i jumped around the post abit

devlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 06:12 AM   #62
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,388
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
Already a member (Just got my January newsletter.)

Are you going to the big Summit in Dallas?

http://www.gotosummit.com/


Key1
Nope.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 06:15 AM   #63
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,388
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
My choices are Air Diagnostics & Balancing, Mold Liability and Prevention, or CO/Combustion training.

The Air diagnostics will be in Philly (about an hour drive) in April...

Key1

If you go to the combustion course.
You'll learn how to use a ball valve in the intake line of your combustion air.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 07:58 AM   #64
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by devlon View Post
Take your wife's thermometer out of the kitchen draw and check the Temp rise of the furnace before messing with any pressures. The gas pressure setting on most furnaces for natural gas is 3.5" of water colum on high fire with a new air filter. Check the temp Rise and make sure you are with in manufactures specs. Temp rise should be found on one of the stickers insinde of the furnace usually in the burner compartment. Temp rise is suplly air temp (air leaving furnace) ( outside drect line of site but as close to the heat exchanger as possible) minus the reutrn air temp. Instead of buying a meter you will probally never use again. Never set your temp rise to its maximum as your filter clogs or you go from a cheap blue one to a better pleated filter your temp rise will increase. So Don't fix what you think is broken Fix what you know is broken. ( True Jedi Wisdom) Also Look at the way your furnace is burning If you can see the flames with out dismantling your furnace. check the temp. rise If you stand a few feet away from it You should see a nice blue flame with very little yellow at the extreme ouside of the flame. it should have a very very nice blue core. I say stand a few feet back because if you are standing to close stirring up dirt and dust into the air you Will see the flame Flash more yellow as you add dust to the fuel you are burning.
Let's see if you are really Jedi.
Question for you.
If my temp rise range is 35-65 and my max nameplate supply temp is 165F and my temp over protection is factory set at 180F.....then what is wrong with having my temp rise at 75 degress when my return air is 70F?

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:17 AM   #65
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Key, Been don't play that.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:33 AM   #66
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Key, Been don't play that.
Got it!
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:38 AM   #67
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
Got it!
That Jedi thing is just me being silly.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:47 AM   #68
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
That Jedi thing is just me being silly.
Is it?

Take a look at the sub-title of the link in post 62 of this thread

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:57 AM   #69
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Coincidence only.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 05:44 PM   #70
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,388
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Because the HX would be hotter with a 105 temp rise, then with a 100 return air temp.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 07:28 PM   #71
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Which senerario is harder on the Heat Exchanger A or B and why?

A. If my return air is 60F and my (correctly measured) supply air is 115 then the temp rise is 65 which is the top of my spec.


B. If my return air is 90 and my supply air is 140 then the temp rise is only 50.

Scenario A has a higher temp rise but a lower HX temp of 115. While senario B has a lower temp rise but a higher HX temp of 140.

Which is harder on the HX the larger difference in temperature (temp rise) or a higher absolute temperature?

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:36 PM   #72
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


ok here is a question I have always wondered about it may be a bit off topic but not as far as you may think.

If you are walking down the street in a boat with six flat tires how many pancakes does it take to shingle a dog house?
Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:47 PM   #73
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Heat View Post
ok here is a question I have always wondered about it may be a bit off topic but not as far as you may think.

If you are walking down the street in a boat with six flat tires how many pancakes does it take to shingle a dog house?
I don't think Key gets the joke or the implications of his question to Been.


Key you made a lot of progress,irregardless, don't disrespect the man.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:54 PM   #74
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
I don't think Key gets the joke or the implications of his question to Been.


Key you made a lot of progress,irregardless, don't disrespect the man.
My question is to all.

And I have nothing but respect for Been.

Where did that come from??

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:25 PM   #75
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Confirming correct gas pressure for new furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
My question is to all.

And I have nothing but respect for Been.

Where did that come from??

Key1
Looked like you were continuing the conversation to me.
It's expected and usual to redirect the question /conversation if you are addressing the whole board.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Old Hot Water furnace won't hold pressure tconkey HVAC 3 01-28-2008 05:01 AM
RUUD Gas Furnace Pressure Switch? erik11 HVAC 8 12-06-2006 11:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.