Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 01:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Configuring Insteon T1900 t-stat w/ dual fuel (heat pump & oil) with no defrost mode


I just bought the Insteon T1900 (http://bobby.is/t1900) with the additional outdoor sensor so that I can start to automate my home temp. Here's a pic of my current t-stat (http://drp.ly/z3p6b).

Since my heat pump does not have a defrost mode, I'm not sure what the wiring diagram I should be using.

http://bobby.is/t1900manual

Is W2 (2nd stage heating) the same as my oil furnace? And if so, do I just set the jumpers to the same that is on page 5.2 of the manual?

Thanks for your expert help!

b00y0h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 03:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Configuring Insteon T1900 t-stat w/ dual fuel (heat pump & oil) with no defrost mode


The manufacture manuals are here:

http://venstar.com/Thermostats/SlimlinePlatinumR/

Are you sure your HP doesnt have a defrost cycle?

Yes, you can use W2 as second stage...or W3 as third stage.

There is a deadband setting and timer option to control these options. I forget which page it is.

You still want the jumper on the back set to HP. It has to do with if the tstat will energize the fan on the call for heat or not.

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest

Last edited by AndrewF; 03-09-2010 at 04:03 PM.
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 04:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Configuring Insteon T1900 t-stat w/ dual fuel (heat pump & oil) with no defrost mode


yes, i'm sure it does not have a defrost cycle. we always have to switch our current t-stat to Emergency to activate the oil furnace, b/c outside temperature lower than about 35 degrees and the HP would pump cold air inside the house. Maybe 'defrost mode' is not the right term, but whatever it's called that makes a HP work (and make the meter spin like crazy like my parents' does!) when it's freezing cold outside.

What does 2nd and 3rd stage mean? Basically I want to detect the outside temperature (i have also purchased the remote sensor) and when it's below 40 degrees, to switch to using the oil furnace.

There's a jumper that says (fans) Elec or Gas and there's one that says HP or Gas and there's one that says B or O.

I'm guessing the B/O jumper always stays on O since it's a HP. But not sure about the other two jumpers.
b00y0h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Configuring Insteon T1900 t-stat w/ dual fuel (heat pump & oil) with no defrost mode


Sounds like a service call is in order if the HP can't keep up at 35 degrees.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 09:21 AM
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 11:22 PM
Fujitsu Heat Pump Concerns SanDiegoCool HVAC 3 03-19-2009 01:27 PM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 12:49 PM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 03:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.